- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Biological Sciences
- Find Grants, Fellowships, and Research Funding
Biological Sciences
Resources at the Marriott Library and on the web for all topics in biology.
Search National Funding Opportunities
Listed below are several databases and websites for finding grants and other funding opportunities.
- Pivot-RP This link opens in a new windowIf you have any questions about this database, please email - lorelei.rutledge@utah.edu; nena.schvaneveldt@utah.edu; alfred.mowdood@utah.edu - the Marriott Library links to this database but does not administer the subscription.
Locating and securing research funding is becoming increasingly competitive, as funding opportunities are limited and the number of researchers vying for those dollars continues to grow. Pivot-RP answers the growing demands on research developers to quickly discover the right funding opportunities and effectively collaborate with their colleagues. With Pivot-RP, ProQuest continues their commitment to empower researchers around the world with tools that they need at various stages of their research lifecycle. Pivot-RP is intuitive and easy to use. It is designed for a researcher - anyone from corporate to academia (faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students) can benefit from using it. - Foundation Directory This link opens in a new windowThe Foundation Directory provides a variety of information about foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. Over 120,000 profiles, 1,000,000 searchable IRS forms, and numerous maps and charts of grants data are contained in this database.
- Guidestar by Candid This link opens in a new windowGuidestar provides information on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations, including public charities, private foundations, and trade associations. Guidestar data includes revenue, expenses, balance sheets, annual reports, contact information, lists of officers and other key personnel, IRS 990s, mission statements, and governance information. The database also includes news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers. Search by name, keyword, city or state, nonprofit type, NTEE code, or income range.
- Grants.govWith an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 27 percent of the total federal budget for basic research conducted at U.S. colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
- National Science FoundationWith an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
- National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship ProgramThe program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.
- National Institutes of HealthNIH offers funding for many types of grants, contracts, and even programs that help repay loans for researchers. Learn about these programs, as well as about NIH's budget process, grant funding strategies, and policies, and more.
Learn about Funding and Grant Writing from the University of Utah
Listed below are several University of Utah resources to support funding and grant writing
- Research EducationResearch Education provides professional development opportunities for all faculty, staff, postdoctoral scholars, students and members of the University research community, including several grant workshops.
Provided by the University of Utah. - Research HandbookFrom the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
The handbook seeks to support the University's research effort by providing guidance regarding the development and administration of sponsored projects; inform investigators of their roles and responsibilities in research administration and compliance, and to indicate the roles of staff in supporting the research effort. - Grant Life CycleFrom the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
The Life Cycle helps you to understand research policies and procedures and walks you through the challenges of finding funding and applying for and administering grants. - Graduate Funding Success WorkshopsApplying for graduate and post-graduate funding can be challenging. The Graduate School hosts resources and regular workshops to increase your ability to understand funding opportunities and apply for them successfully.
Provided by the University of Utah. - The Graduate SchoolThe Graduate School fosters excellence by providing administrative structure and leadership to maintain and enhance graduate education at the University of Utah. Our programs offer financial assistance, support innovative academic opportunities, and provide professional development to students, postdoctoral fellows, staff and faculty.
Need help? Contact us
