alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

: :Voices from Empire: the Lusotropicalist Myth in Portugal, Brazil, Mozambique, Angola, Macao, & Others (PTGSE 3050/PTGSE 6050): :

Course introduces students to concepts of empire, lusofonia, and the lusotropicalist myth by way of the greatest literary figures of Portugal, Brazil, and the Portuguese Diaspora in their respective cultural contexts.

Beginning your search for sources

The library's catalog Usearch is a good place to begin, since it searches not only the physical resources held in the library but also over 380 packages of online resources (including journals and e-books). Most of the articles that show up in search results from our catalog should have the full text available, usually as a pdf. Those that don't provide full text can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To find articles beyond the scope of the journal packages searched by our catalog the first stop would be our databases. For the topics touched on by this class the best places to start would be the Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography, the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), Historical Abstracts, Fuente Académica, Informe Académico, and World Scholar: Latin American and the Caribbean. One way to go deeper in your search for both books and articles would be to read through the sources cited by someone who has written a master's thesis or doctoral dissertation closely related to the topic of your research. You can do this using the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. For instance, the 2014 doctoral dissertation Perversions of love: imperialism, nationalism and post-nationalism in the works of António Lobo Antunes, Pepetela and Fernando Vallejo, by Sebastián Patrón has eight pages of sources, while the 2004 doctoral dissertation Memória e império: colonos e famílias no romance português de revisitação africana dos anos 90, by Isabel A. Ferreira has 12 pages of sources.

Another effective way to search for scholarly resources that may or may not be available in our collections (but that may still be available through Interlibrary Loan) is to use Google Scholar. In order to take advantage of your affiliation with the University of Utah you should first take these steps: 1) click on the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the page 2) click on Settings/icon of the cogwheel 3) click on Library links 4) put Utah in the search box and click on the magnifying glass 5) click in the box in front of University of Utah - Get It @ UU, then click on Save. 

Physical books at the Marriott Library

Unfortunately, due to the current COVID-19 situation, the Marriott Library is closed and won't reopen until April 4th at the earliest. That means the physical books below are not available. But you will note that some of them are available as e-books. It may be possible for us to obtain e-book versions of some of those that are currently only available in physical format. Please let me know if there are titles on this list that you would be interested in consulting in e-book format.

The books related to the topics covered by this class are distributed over two levels of the Marriott Library. Bear in mind that if a book you are interested in is currently checked out, you can recall it from circulation by clicking on the Request link (which will only show up if you are logged in through CIS). Some sample titles:

On the east side of Level 2:

DP534.5.S23 2016 The Portuguese-speaking diaspora: seven centuries of literature and the arts, by Darlene J. Sadlier

DP681.A74 2003 Utopias of otherness: nationhood and subjectivity in Portugal and Brazil, by Fernando Arenas [also available as an e-book]

In the compact shelving on the east side of Level 1:

PN56.C63 H57 2008 A historical companion to postcolonial literatures: continental Europe and its empires, edited by Prem Poddar, Rajeev S. Patke and Lars Jensen [also available as an e-book]

PQ9199.A2 Z677 2003 Post-imperial Camões, edited by João R. Figueiredo [also available as an e-book]

PQ9522.R24 I74 2008 White negritude: race, writing and Brazilian cultural identity, by Alexandra Isfahani-Hammond

PQ9900.P67 1996 The post-colonial literature of lusophone Africa, edited by Patrick Chabal

PQ9900.5 .N33 2012 Nação e narrativa pós-colonial, edited by Ana Mafalda Leite

PQ9920.F73 2016 Descortinando a inocência: infância e violência em três obras da literatura angolana, by Roberta Guimarães Franco

PQ9939.K48 U213 2017 Ualalapi: fragments from the end of empire, by Ungulani Ba Ka Khosa, translated by Richard Bartlett and Isaura de Oliveira

Books not here at the library

The library's catalog includes records for books we do not yet own. These records say "MPDDA Click REQUEST PURCHASE to get a physical copy of book. On average requests take one to two weeks." In order to be able to request such a purchase you will be prompted to log in to your library account (even if you are already logged in through CIS) -- this is to ensure that only members of the University of Utah community are triggering purchases.

Even with a collection of over 4,000,000 items the library doesn't begin to have everything. The best single source to find books that aren't here, but that can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, is the WorldCat (FirstSearch) database.

Again, due to the COVID-19 restrictions, it isn't currently possible for us to process requests for physical books, either as purchases or as interlibrary loans.

E-books

More and more of the books purchased by the library are e-books rather than physical volumes. Clicking on the link to an e-book in our catalog will prompt you to log in with your uNID and CIS password, even if you have already logged in. Some titles we have only as e-books:

Anti-empire: decolonial interventions in lusophone literatures, by Daniel F. Silva

Cape Verde: language, literature & music, edited by Ana Mafalda Leite

Colonial wars in contemporary Portuguese fiction, by Isabel Moutinho

Colonialism and race in Luso-Hispanic literature, by Jerome C. Branche

Gender, empire and postcolony: Luso-Afro-Brazilian intersections, by Anna M. Klobucka

Imperial migrations: colonial communities and diaspora in the Portuguese world, edited by Éric Morier-Genoud and Michel Cahen

Lusofonia and its futuresedited by João Cezar Castro Rocha

Narrating the postcolonial nation: mapping Angola and Mozambique, edited by Ana Mafalda Leite

The other nineteenth century, edited by Kathryn Bishop-Sanchez

For assistance

Robert Behra's picture
Robert Behra
Contact:
Faculty Services Coordinator
Research and User Services
J. Willard Marriott Library
The University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860

Office: 2110K

801-581-7694
fax: 801-581-3464
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library