ETHNC 5900 Methodology: Native Americans

• P0006 Lyman P. Hunter Photograph Collection, 1920s [finding aid]

Contains 61 photoprints and 4 photonegatives depicting Southern Utah and the Four Corners Area during the 1920s. Included are images of landscapes, Native American ruins and archaeological sites, and contemporary Native Americans, primarily Navajo. The entire collection has been digitized.

• P0013 Herbert E. Gregory Photograph Collection, 1900-1944 [finding aid]

Consists of 3,288 photographs documenting Gregory's travels in Southern Utah, Arizona, Nevada, and California. Many images depict Navajo and Hopi peoples. All of the photographs have been digitized.

• P0074 Gosiute Indian Photograph Collection, 1930-1949 [finding aid]

Contains 26 photographs used in a University of Utah thesis by Carling I. Malouf entitled "A Study of the Gosiute Indians of Utah." They depict petroglyphs and pictographs, Gosiute buildings, crafts, and various activities and sites. All of the photographs have been digitized.

• P0107 Brigham Madsen Photograph Collection, 1860-1945 [finding aid]

Consists of photographs of freighting and historic freighting sites in the Western U.S. and images used in Madsen's published books. Some images depict Native Americans from the Shoshone-Bannock, Shoshone, Paiute, and potentially other unidentified tribes. 12 of 641 photographs have been digitized.

• P0181 Stanley David and June Kremer Lyman Photograph Collection, 1973 [finding aid]

Contains photographs documenting Stanley Lyman's career with the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Included are images of the occupation of Wounded Knee, South Dakota, by Oglala Lakota and members of the American Indian Movement in 1973 and subsequent Congressional hearings. Activists controlled the town for 71 days to protest the Oglala Lakota Sioux president Richard Wilson and the United States government's failure to honor treaties with Native American peoples. The entire collection has been digitized.

• P0207 Carl Weeks Photograph Collection, 1890-1955 [finding aid]

Consists of photographs and slides documenting Weeks' travels in the Southwest United States. It includes images of Navajo and other Native American peoples. The entire collection has been digitized.

• P0693 Vyrie Gray Photograph Collection, circa 1920-1939 [finding aid]

Contains individual and group photographs of members of the Goshute (or Gosiute) tribe. Some of the images deal with military subjects. All 12 photographs have been digitized.

• P1116 William F. Buckley Photograph Collection, circa 1910 [finding aid]

Contains photographs, posters, and other documents showing the Episcopalian Church's influence in Utah during the early 20th century. Buckley traveled throughout Northern Utah to visit mining communities and Native American reservations., including Fort Duchesne and Myton. The Native Americans may be members of the Ute tribe, though this is not specified on the photographs. The entire collection has been digitized.