ETHNC 5900 Methodology: Jewish Americans

• P0139 Benjamin M. Roe Photograph Collection, 1989-1960 [finding aid]

Consists of portraits of Benjamin Roe and others, photographs of Salt Lake City synagogues, and images of social events and businesses related to the Jewish community in the city. Born in 1898 in a Jewish ghetto in Russia, Roe immigrated to the United States in 1913 and became a community leader in Salt Lake City. 6 of 183 photographs have been digitized.

• P0155 Sigmund and Emma Helwing Photograph Collection, circa 1914-1970 [finding aid]

Contains 94 photographs of the Helwings, other people, and animals, some of which were taken before they immigrated to the United States. The Helwings were Austrian Jews who fled Nazi Germany during WWII and relocated to Salt Lake City. The entire collection has been digitized.

• P0224 Jewish Archives Photograph Collection, 1900-1980 [finding aid]

Consists of photographs of individuals and groups of people belonging to the Jewish community in Utah. 6 of the 69 photographs have been digitized.

• P0225 Bamberger Family Photograph Collection, 1900-1920 [finding aid]

Contains photographs of Simon Bamburger and his family, political functions, family vacations, and the Bamberger Railroad. Born in Germany in 1845, Bamberger immigrated to the United States when he was 14 years old and eventually settled in St. Louis, Missouri. After learning that his business had failed while on a debt collection trip to Wyoming, Bamberger relocated to Utah and opened businesses in Ogden and Salt Lake City. He began constructing an interurban railroad between the two cities in 1908, and his Bamburger Railroad operated until 1955. He served as the 4th Governor of Utah from 1917-1921, the first non-Mormon and, to date, the only Jewish governor of the state. 12 of 217 photographs have been digitized.

• P0590 Maurice Abravanel Photograph Collection, 1920s-1990s [finding aid]

Consists of photographs documenting the life and career of Maurice Abravanel. Born in what is now Thessaloniki, Greece, in 1903, Abravanel was from a prominent Sephardic Jewish family that moved to Lausanne, Switzerland, in 1909. After accepting a post as a conductor in New York's Metropolitan Opera in 1936, he was hired as music director of the Utah Symphony in 1947. 97 photographs have been digitized.