ETHNC 5900 Methodology: European Americans

• ACCN 1440 Kennecott Copper Corporation, Utah Copper Division Records, circa 1900-2000 [finding aid]

Consists of personnel records, schematics, and administrative and property records for this Utah mining, smelting, and refining company. A significant portion of the collection is handwritten employment cards dating from 1900-1919. They record employee information including name, address, dependents, nationality, compensation, and other information. Over 40,000 cards have been digitized, representing a cohort of employees that includes Asian immigrants, European immigrants, Americans, and other groups.

• ACCN 1479 Carbon County Oral History Project, 1972-1993 [finding aid]

Contains transcripts of oral histories from residents of Carbon County, Utah. While the primary focus of the interviews are on living in coal mine country, the participants often discuss their lives as immigrants or the children of immigrants from countries including Japan, Austria, and Italy. 47 transcripts have been digitized.

• ACCN 2070 Saving the Legacy Oral History Project, 2001-2010 [finding aid]

Consists of transcripts of oral histories of people who lived during WWII. Participants, who include people born in the United States as well as immigrants from Asia and Europe, discuss their daily lives during the war, military service and other topics. 352 transcripts have been digitized.

• MS 0095 Golden Spike Oral History Project, 1947-1974 [finding aid]

Contains transcripts of interviews documenting the history of the Golden Spike National Historic Site. Participants discuss their childhoods in Utah, Europe, Mexico and Asia; daily life near Promontory, Utah; working on the railroad; and ethnic relations. 26 transcripts have been digitized.

• MS 0473 Carbon County Coal Strike Records, 1906-1973 [finding aid]

Contains original documents and photocopies of transcripts, correspondence, flyers, articles, and other sources documenting the Carbon County Coal Strike of 1933. The conflict was primarily between 2 competing miners' unions, the National Miner's Union (NMU) and the United Mine Workers of America (UMWA), fueled by the preexisting rivalry between the towns of Price and Helper. Helper, which had a large immigrant population of Slavs and Italians, joined the NMU, while Price, which had a large American-born population, backed the UMWA in response. Violence exploded when the NMU workers went on strike and the UMWA did not. 19 documents have been digitized.

• P0028 Southern Slavic Photograph Collection, 1897-1947 [finding aid]

Consists of 153 photographs of individuals, groups, events, and places associated with the Southern Slavic community in Utah. Hailing from many different countries including Serbia, Slovenia, and Croatia, many originally immigrated to Utah to work as miners. The entire collection has been digitized.

• P0086 Italian Archives Photograph Collection, 1916-1952 [finding aid]

Contains 62 photographs documenting the lives and experiences of Italian Americans in Utah, including portraits, images of social and religious events, and pictures of churches and other buildings. All 62 photographs have been digitized.

• P0121 Greek Archives Photograph Collection, 1900-1967 [finding aid]

Contains 384 images documenting the Greek community in Salt Lake City, including portraits and pictures of Greek-owned businesses. Many originally immigrated to the United States to work in the mines and on the railroads. 362 photographs have been digitized.