Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery: How To Request

Request an article that is not available through the Library

You can search and request specific articles that the University of Utah does not currently own by searching the specific article title from the Marriott Library Home Page.

If there are no results available through this search, navigate to the catalog from the search results to expand your search beyond University of Utah resources.

If you see no results matching your search, you can expand your search from the catalog page to include results outside of the University of Utah by enabling Tweak my results, which will show access options for articles that the University of Utah does not currently have access to. Selecting Options for access on the resource will take you to a web page showing options for requesting access to the article.

From this screen you can explore Open Access options, or select Get the article to request access to the article.

After selecting Get the article, you will be asked to select your home library. Select J. Willard Marriott Library as your Home Library as the library if you are a user of the Main Campus or select Utah Asia Campus if you are a UAC user. . 

• If your department belongs to the Health Science campus or S.J. Quinney College of Law, click on the Spencer S. Eccles Health Science Library or James E. Faust Law Library links and follow their ILL services' instructions.

You will log in using your uNID and password, which will take you to an auto-populated request form.

• If you are a first-time user, you will be redirected to the Personal Information page to provide your contact information to create your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed new request form under to manually enter and submit your request (see the ILLiad tab under "How to Request" at the top of this page).

Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including indicating that a request is for Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.

• Click on Submit Request button once
• Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request

You will receive an email when your requested material becomes available or if it is unavailable.

For Document Delivery and Article Requests, you will receive an email notifying you when the article is ready to be viewed. Access to electronically delivered material is available for 30 days.

Some publishers are set up for on-demand delivery of articles through a service called Article Galaxy Scholar. If your article is in a publication that has been set up for this service, you will be prompted simply to enter your email address, and a pdf copy of the article will be delivered to your email in a few hours.

You can submit a request for an article for which our library lacks full-text access directly from many of the research Databases.

From the Databases page, navigate to the database tool guide by selecting from the Select Database by Subject or Select Database by Type drop-down menu.

Select a database and search to identify an article you need but full-text access is not available. If no PDF or HTML access options appear, use the Find It icon to open the request options for the article.

If no other access options are available, click Request an Article to open the request form.

After clicking "Request an Article", you will be asked to select your home library. Select J. Willard Marriott Library as your Home Library as the library if you are a user of the Main Campus or select Utah Asia Campus if you are a UAC user.

• If your department belongs to the Health Science campus or S.J. Quinney College of Law, click on the Spencer S. Eccles Health Science Library or James E. Faust Law Library links and follow their ILL services' instructions.

You will log in using your uNID and password, which will take you to an auto-populated request form.

• If you are a first-time user, you will be redirected to the Personal Information page to provide your contact information to create your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed new request form under to manually enter and submit your request (see the ILLiad tab under "How to Request" at the top of this page).

Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including indicating that a request is for Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.

• Click on Submit Request button once
• Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request

You will receive an email when your requested material becomes available or if it is unavailable.

For Document Delivery and Article Requests, you will receive an email notifying you when the article is ready to be viewed. Access to electronically delivered material is available for 30 days.

Some publishers are set up for on-demand delivery of articles through a service called Article Galaxy Scholar. If your article is in a publication that has been set up for this service, you will be prompted simply to enter your email address, and a pdf copy of the article will be delivered to your email in a few hours.

WorldCat is a great resource for searching books, music scores, films, and CDs.

WorldCat provides the following search options:

When you've found a title you would like to request, click on the title.

Click Request Interlibrary Loan to open a request form.

After clicking on Request Interlibrary Loan, you will be asked to select your home library. Select J. Willard Marriott Library as your Home Library as the library if you are a user of the Main Campus or select Utah Asia Campus if you are a UAC user. 

• If your department belongs to the Health Science campus or S.J. Quinney College of Law, click on the Spencer S. Eccles Health Science Library or James E. Faust Law Library links and follow their ILL services' instructions.

You will log in using your uNID and password, which will take you to an auto-populated request form.

• If you are a first-time user, you will be redirected to the Personal Information page to provide your contact information to create your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed request form under New on the left side of the Main Menu to manually enter the information (see the ILLiad tab under "How to Request" at the top of this page).

Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including indicating that a request is for Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.

• Click on Submit Request button once
• Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request

You will receive an email when you requested material becomes available or if it is unavailable.

ILLiad is the database that the Marriott Library uses to manage Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests. Patrons can view their current and past requests, articles that have been delivered, request renewals and update their account information through this database. To get started making a request, click on a type of request form under the NEW REQUESTS drop-down menu. 

Enter all the required information (marked with a red asterisk) and click Submit Request. It may take a minute for your request to submit. Your request will appear under "Pending Requests" with a Transaction Number on the Main Menu of ILLiad once it has been submitted.

Do not double-click on Submit Request button. Doing so will create a duplicate request.

You will receive an email when your requested material becomes available or if it is unavailable.