Interlibrary Loan: How To Request
Ways to Request
Request a book that is currently checked out
Once you found a book you need from your search result list, click on the title to open the book record. You can see it is currently checked out.
Log in with you uNID (University of Utah ID) to view all of your request options.
Now you can see all the request options.
To request the same book through Interlibrary Loan, click Request from Another Library.
To request a chapter as a PDF, click Request Book Chapter. To request a recall of the checked out book from the current user, click Request.
If you happen to request a whole book that is available as "Item In Place," your request will become a Pull Request (more info). If it is a book chapter request, we will scan in-house as a Document Delivery request.
After clicking on Request from Another Library, you will be asked to select your home library. Select J. Willard Marriott Library as your Home Library as the library user of the Main Campus or Utah Asia Campus.
- If your department belongs to the Health Science campus or S.J. Quinney College of Law, click on the Spencer S. Eccles Health Science Library or James E. Faust Law Library links and follow their ILL services' instructions.
You will log in via the campus log in uNID
- Then end up on an auto-populated request form.
- If you are the first-time user, you will be redirected to the New User Registration page to provide your contact information to create your ILL account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. Your personal and request information will not be shared with other library or university units. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed new request form under to manually enter and submit your request (see the ILLiad tab under "Ways to Request" at the top of this page).
Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.
- Click on Submit Request button once
- Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request
You will receive an email when you requested material becomes available or it is unavailable.
You can submit an article for which our library lacks full-text access directly from many of the research Databases.
From the Databases page, the database tool guide by selecting from the Select Database by Subject or Select Database by Type drop-down menu.
Select a database and search to identify an article you need but full-text access is not available.
If no PDF or HTML icons appear, use the "Request Interlibrary Loan" icon.
Select your Home Library
You will log in via the campus log in uNID
- Then end up on an auto-populated request form.
- If you are the first-time user, you will be redirected to the Personal Information page to provide your contact information to create your ILL account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed new request form under to manually enter and submit your request (see the ILLiad tab under "Ways to Request").
Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.
- Click on Submit Request button once
- Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request
You will receive an email when you requested material becomes available or it is unavailable.
A request form will open. Be sure that all required fields (marked with a red asterisk) are completed and click Submit Request.
You will receive an email notifying you when the article is ready to be viewed. Access is available for 30 days.
-
WorldCatSearch and request books through WorldCat. WorldCat's search covers over 30 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. The database has holdings information for many US and some foreign libraries, and is updated daily.
WorldCat is a great resource for searching books, music scores, movies and CDs.
WorldCat provides the following search options:
When you've found a title you would like to request, click on the title.
Click Request Interlibrary Loan to open a request form.
You will log in via the campus log in uNID
- Then end up on an auto-populated request form.
- If you are the first-time user, you will be redirected to the Personal Information page to provide your contact information to create your ILL account in our ILL system. We need this information to notify you when an item is available and to verify that you are currently affiliated with the University of Utah. After saving you contact information, you may need to go back to the library catalog page to land on the populated request form shown as below, or click on the needed request form under New on the left side of the Main Menu to manually enter the information (see the ILLiad tab under "Ways to Request").
Make sure all the requested field with red asterisks are filled and add any additional information as you wish, including Main Campus Office Delivery or Home Delivery services.
- Click on Submit Request button once
- Do not double-click or refresh this page or it will create a duplicate request
You will receive an email when you requested material becomes available or it is unavailable.
ILLiad is the database that the Marriott Library uses to manage interlibrary loan requests. Patrons can view their current and past requests, articles that have been delivered, request renewals and update their account information through this database. Click on a type of request form under NEW REQUESTS drop-down menu.
Enter all the required information (marked with a red asterisk) and click Submit Request. It may take a minute for your request to submit. Your request will appear under "Pending Requests" with a Transaction Number on the Main Menu of ILLiad once it has been submitted.
Do not double-click on Submit Request button. Doing so will create a duplicate request.
