Housing Affordability

HUD USER is an information source containing reports and reference documents for the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD USER was established by the HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R) in 1978. Click on U.S. Housing Market Conditions to see more information about Housing Market Indicators

he Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies strives to improve equitable access to decent, affordable homes in thriving communities. We conduct rigorous research to advance policy and practice, and we bring together diverse stakeholders to spark new ideas for addressing housing challenges. Look here for reports about housing affordability

The National Institute of Building Sciences is an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit, non-governmental organization that supports advances in building science and technology. We were established by the U.S. Congress in the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, Public Law 93-383. Congress recognized the need for an organization to serve as an interface between government and the private sector – one that serves as a resource to those who plan, design, procure, construct, use, operate, maintain, renovate, and retire physical facilities. Check out their yearly housing reports.

This document describes the relationship between costs and rents and illustrates how state and local policies impact housing affordability.

President Lyndon B. Johnson founded the Urban Institute in 1968 to provide “power through knowledge” to help solve the problems that weighed heavily on the nation’s hearts and minds. Urban Institute provides data and reports on multiple issues, including housing and housing affordability

The National Association of Home Builders represents the largest network of craftsmen, innovators and problem solvers dedicated to building and enriching communities. Check out their ideas on addressing housing affordability from a builder's perspective

Here is a Crunchbase report about startups working on solutions for high housing costs.

Check out this page for links to papers from professors at the University of Utah about housing affordability

Housing Affordability data and information from the US Census

Data and information from the Pew Research Center about housing affordability

The Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute, in partnership with the Ivory-Boyer Real Estate Center, tracks building permit activity across the state, publishing the quarterly Ivory-Boyer Construction Report and maintaining the Ivory-Boyer Construction Database.

The construction report provides an in-depth analysis of both residential and non-residential trends. The public-use database contains 40 years of detailed monthly permit data for Utah localities. Real estate professionals, planners, economists, researchers, business leaders, and public officials rely on the report and database to make informed decisions.

This data for the Utah Geospatial Data Center provides data as well as an interactive map showing housing affordability across Utah

This is a blog piece written by James Wood fir the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute that provides some broad reasons for issues with housing affordability in Utah

The Utah Foundations goal is to inform and engage Utahns with illuminating, independent, nonpartisan public-policy research. Start with the report "Boosting Utah's Homeownership Affordability" here: https://www.utahfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/rr820.pdf

Use this report to learn more about multi-family housing and housing affordability challenges by county in Utah.

Look here for information on housing, construction, and real estate information from the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute.