Asian Studies: Library Resources
Additional Library Resources
Asian Studies Films at the Marriott Library: The library has a wide variety of Asian studies videos and DVDs. To find these, go to lib.utah.edu and then look for Advanced Search in the library catalog. Type in the words that describe your subject such as "akira kurosawa" and scroll down the screen until you see the option to limit by Format. Choose the option to limit for Audiovisual. You should see a listing of videos and DVDs available to you.
Primary Sources, Microfilm
India during the Raj: eyewitness accounts: diaries and related documents held in the British Library, London...Marlborough: Adam Matthews, 2004-
Includes pt. 1. Diaries and related records describing life in India, c1750-1842 (reels 1-25) -- pt. 2. Diaries and related records describing life in India, c1819-1859 (reels 1-29).
Guben Xiaoshuo Jicheng 古本小說集成.The Marriott Library has purchased also a set of Guben xiaoshuo jicheng, which includes 530 titles of Song, Yuan, Ming, Qing dynasty fiction in many volumes, in classical Chinese. Cataloged separately.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by ISBN: 052135594XPublication Date: 1991-10-25The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China provides an absorbing and authoritative account of China and all things Chinese - geography, politics, customs, food and drink, the arts, and a rich and colourful history, from ancient times through to the momentous events of the past decade. Brian Hook and his team of expert contributors have thoroughly revised and updated the Encyclopedia to take full account of the most recent developments in China, from the economic reforms and increased freedoms of the early 1980s to the crisis of 1989 and its aftermath. The book is thus a uniquely broad-ranging account of China for everyone with an interest in the area, which will appeal both as a highly attractive illustrated reference book and as an invaluable source of practical information on a developing superpower.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan by ISBN: 0521403529Publication Date: 1993-05-27The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan is the essential reference to all facets of Japan past and present. Up-to-date, authoritative and wide-ranging in scope, it covers all the general reader, student, business person, journalist, researcher, tourist or armchair traveller would want to know. A highly absorbing read, the Encyclopedia is also filled with the facts, figures and general data on Japan that make it an indispensable source of information: for example, that the safest place to be during an earthquake in Japan is in a bamboo grove; or that one of the greatest delicacies of Japanese cuisine, the fugu, is deadly poisonous in the hands of an unskilled chef. It gives the latest statistics too, from Japan's dramatically ageing population, to a complete listing of its prime ministers, to valuable data on the powerful Japanese advertising industry. Throughout, full-colour photographs, maps and graphics generously illustrate the book and additional boxed features highlight important topics or issues relevant to the text. This, in a single volume, is a complete and fascinating picture of Japan and its people: its rich inherited traditions and culture, its modern complexities and its tantalising future role in the world.- India during the Raj : eyewitness accounts : diaries and related records held in the British Library, London byCall Number: DS463 .I6 2004Publication Date: 2004-pt. 1. Diaries and related records describing life in India, c1750-1842 (reels 1-25) -- pt. 2. Diaries and related records describing life in India, c1819-1859 (reels 1-29)
Subtitle on text: A listing and guide to Parts 1-2 of the microfilm collection.
