ULibraries Research Guides: Gender Studies: Articles

Gender Studies Databases

Here are a few databases related to Gender Studies:

Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity LGBTQ History and Culture (Part I & II)
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Defining Gender
Explore gender through a vast body of British source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century. Through correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions of these can be explored. This is an interdisciplinary resource that will enrich the teaching and research of gender, history, sociology, education and literature.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Adam Matthew's Gender: Identity and Social Change is a collection of primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Gender Studies Collection
Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
GenderWatch
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to 1970.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H Jacobs
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and includes over two million pages.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
This database includes a collection of immediate experiences from over 1,300 women, drawn from more than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Sex and Sexuality
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts
Women's Health.gov
Use Quick Health Data Online to get immediate access to data, create tables, maps, and graphs for both women and men on a variety of health related topics.
Data comes from reputable national and state sources, and is routinely updated.
Women's Studies Archive
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women's stories to light, the Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale's Women's Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women's History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Women's Studies Encyclopedia Online
The Women's Studies Encyclopedia contains information about women from many fields and disciplines of study, focusing on the American experience (though many entries are related to women in other parts of the world as well).
Women's Studies International
This database contains an index of the feminist press that covers nearly 3,000 sources in women's studies areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

General Databases

Below is a selection of interdisciplinary databases related to Gender Studies:

Accessible Archives
This database contains all the materials the library provides access to through Accessible Archives. Some of the materials in this database (African American Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette, etc.) are owned outright by the library and have their own listings elsewhere in the database listings, but this entry will give you access to the content we subscribe to on a temporary basis as well. Accessible Archives is made up of a number of digitized historical newspapers which cover a range of topics, but which generally focus on early American history.
This database contains all the materials the library provides access to through Accessible Archives. Some of the materials in this database (African American Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette, etc.) are owned outright by the library and have their own listings elsewhere in the database listings, but this entry will give you access to the content we subscribe to on a temporary basis as well. Accessible Archives is made up of a number of digitized historical newspapers which cover a range of topics, but which generally focus on early American history.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is a strong bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
American History
From Adam Matthew (AM), This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.

Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
American History in Video
American History in Video provides access to a video collection related to the study of American history, with over 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on file. The collection contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries. The database organizes the video by historical era as well as relevance to historical people and events, providing the videos with historical context. New content is added periodically.
American Psychological Association (APA) eBook Collection
This database provides access to the APA eBook Collection, which includes APA books grouped by individual copyright year from 2008 to 2013 (copyright year is sometimes different from calendar year, and therefore the collection does include some titles released in 2007). The APA eBooks encompass content in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, neuroscience, and physiology, among others. Coverage within each collection i…
This database provides access to the APA eBook Collection, which includes APA books grouped by individual copyright year from 2008 to 2013 (copyright year is sometimes different from calendar year, and therefore the collection does include some titles released in 2007). The APA eBooks encompass content in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, neuroscience, and physiology, among others. Coverage within each collection is limited to scholarly and professional titles, and does not include other APA products (like style guides, for instance).
Amnesty International Archives: A Global Movement for Human Rights
Explore the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. The material within this collection is vital for studying the history of key political events, global social change and the development of a global movement for human rights covering themes including state violence, political prisoners, minority rights and more.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity LGBTQ History and Culture (Part I & II)
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
Black freedom struggle in the 20th century: Federal government records (module 1)
The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.
Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background mat…
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
EBSCOhost Databases
This listing provides access to all of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through EBSCOhost. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Gale U.S. History in Context
Designed to support U.S. history studies and provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
Designed to support U.S. history studies and provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
Gale World History in Context
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (from H.W.Wilson)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective covers a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences with indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
Social Science Premium
The Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science]
NOTE: To access this database, you must come to the Marriott Library and use one of the library computers.
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a collection of scholarly literature in the social sciences, including journals, conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Citation searching enables following the past and future research of a published article. The database is regularly updated when new or changed content becomes available.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with underground comix from the 1960's to the works of modern sequential artists. The collection contains more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of related interviews, criticism, and journal articles.