Geography
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Library Materials
Government Documents
Federal publications are an excellent source of earth science and statistical information. Visit the Knowledge Commons desk for help.
Call Numbers of Interest to Geographers
Level One, Stacks
G1000-3999 Maps and atlases
QC 800- Meteorology
QE Geology
QH Natural history. Biology
Level Two, Stacks
G 1- 1000 General geography. Geographic methods. GIS. (also Tourism. Exploration)
GA Cartography
GB Physical geography. Geomorphology. Hydrology.
GE Environmental studies
GF Human ecology
HA Statistics
HB Economics. Demography
HE Transportation. Communication.
HT Urban and regional planning
Searching for Books and eBooks
1. Try the Marriott Library catalog first to see what you can get right now.
2. If you are not finding what you need, find out if anything interesting has been published by searching in larger book databases such as WorldCat, Google Books, or Amazon.com.
3. Request books or articles that the Marriott Library doesn't own via Interlibrary Loan.
Catalogs and Databases
- Library Catalog - Usearch This link opens in a new windowFind items available from campus libraries.
- ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowThis listing provides access to most of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through ProQuest. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes ProQuest content from our collections. For more information about the databases that ProQuest provides access to, open this list and then click on the \Searching <#> Databases\" button near"…
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat's search covers over 30 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. The database has holdings information for many US and some foreign libraries, and is updated daily. WorldCat Quick Search is also available to the general public."
Additional Resources
- Amazon.comOnline bookstore. If you don't want to buy it, you can find it in the library catalog or request it via Interlibrary Loan
- Google BooksSearch inside books. If it's not full-text, you can find it in the library catalog or request it via Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanRequest service for U of U students, faculty & staff. Get articles, books etc. that the library doesn't own.
Helpful Resources
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
Connect From Off-Campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Click here:
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
Interlibrary Loan
Get library materials from other libraries for free!
Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.
