Physics and Astronomy
ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Resources
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are the world’s largest scientific society. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
- Short Summary of the ACS Style Guide OnlineFrom the University of Madison, Wisconsin.
- Chapter 14 of the ACS Style GuideFrom the ACS website. Chapter 14 contains the rules for how to cite references in text and create a bibliography.
- ACS Style GuidePDF version of Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide contains the rules for how to cite references in text and create a bibliography.
AIP (American Institute of Physics) Style Resources
AIP Publishing lives by a promise to researchers: to ensure that all findings with the potential to advance the physical sciences are presented, promoted, and permanently available as the building blocks of future discoveries.
- AIP Style4th Edition, 1990
Chicago Style Resources
From Purdue Online Writing Lab:
CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style) is most commonly used to cite sources within history and the arts.
Chicago has two main options for citations and bibliography: Author Date and Notes Bibliography. In Author Date style, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References. In Notes Bibliography style, your citations will either be footnotes or endnotes, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called Bibliography.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05Find a hard copy of the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition in the library! Not only does this include how to cite sources, but it is also a guide for writing in the Chicago style.
- Chicago Manual of Style
Online version of the 17th and 16th editions - Chicago Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Citation Managers
There are four common citation managers: EndNote, NoodleTools, Zotero and Mendeley
EndNote, EndNote Basic, and Zotero are bibliographic management programs that help you manage, store, and organize references.
EndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Significant learning curve
- If you are a scholar or aspiring scholar you should invest the time now in order to save time and headaches later
- You may purchase Endnote X.7 from the Office of Software Licensing (You may want to use both EndNote and EndNote Basic)
- See EndNote Desktop guide
EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.
- Easier to use
- Undergraduate student focus
- See EndNote Basic guide
NoodleTools is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.
- Easy to Use
- Undergraduate student focus
- Self-guided tool that teaches how to properly document sources in MLA, APA or Chicago/Turabian
- Produces a fully formatted Works Cited/References page
- See NoodleTools User Guide
- Freely available
- Easy to import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
- Can import dozens of citations at a time from Google Scholar
- Compatible with EndNote Basic and Mendeley
- See Zotero guide
- Freely available
- Can import citations from many library databases and webpages
- Can share citations through groups feature
- See Mendeley guide
University Writing Center
The University Writing Center is here to help you become a more confident writer by providing individual consultations with peer tutors. We work on papers from all disciplines - not just writing classes. Best of all, the Writing Center is a FREE service to students and faculty of the University of Utah.
The University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the Marriott Library in room 2701.
Make an appointment
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
