Zotero: Home

Zotero Classroom Instruction

Zotero Logo

Would you like a librarian to teach your class how to use Zotero to manage their research resources? Contact Rebekah Cummings at rebekah.cummings@utah.edu or Jessica Colbert at jessica.colbert@utah.edu for in-class Zotero instruction. 

Upcoming Workshops



This guide has been modified from the wonderful library guide created by Jason Puckett at Georgia State University.

Need help? Contact the Marriott Library.

Live Chat - 

chat loading...

About Zotero

Photo by Karin DalzielZotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a citation management software that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It is downloaded as a desktop application that connects with a browser plug-in.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Setting Up Full-Text Access


Zotero SFX SFXYou've probably seen the Check SFX for full text button in some Marriott Library research databases.  This button allows you to locate the full text of an article online. Zotero allows you to use the same feature.

To set up Zotero to Check SFX for full text, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar and choose Preferences. At the bottom of the Advanced window, paste the url below into the "Resolver" box:


Then click OK. Once this url is saved in your Zotero preferences, Zotero Lookupyou can click the Locate button on any citation you're viewing to search for the item online.  



Subject Guide

Rebekah Cummings's picture
Rebekah Cummings
J Willard Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East
Digital Matters Lab
Skype Contact: @RebekahCummings

Resident Librarian

Jessica L. Colbert's picture
Jessica L. Colbert
Pronouns: they/them/theirs
Office Hours Thursdays 11am-1pm or by appointment
ORCID iD iconorcid.org/0000-0001-5733-5168
University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
295 S 1500 E SLC, UT 84112-0860
(801) 581-4403
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library