Literature Reviews in the Health and Life Sciences: Style/Citation Manuals
- APAStyle.org covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.
- Beyond the MLA Handbook: Documenting Electronic Sources on the Internet
- Chicago Manual of Style (Princeton only)
- Citing Online Sources a list of several links from the Linguist
- Citing Sources has comparison tables for print & electronic (including MLA) (Duke)
- Citation Styles Online covers MLA, APA, Chicago and CBE
- Elements of Style - By William Strunk, Jr.; accessed thru Bartleby.com
- Karla's Guide to Citation Manuals annotated links to various styles for citing electronic, and other sources - MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc
- Research and Documentation Online By Diana Hacker; includes examples for citing the MLA, APA and CBE
- Style Sheets for Citing Internet & Electronic Resources Humanities (MLA & Chicago), Scientific (APA & CBE), and History (Turabian)
- Turabian Style: Sample Footnotes and Bibliographic Entries (6th edition)
Print resources are available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2) of the Marriott Library
Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style. The most popular style guides are APA, Chicago, and MLA style. Other style guides include:
- A Handbook for Thesis and Dissertations Published by the Graduate School of the University of Utah
- See the Graduate School's Thesis Office website for more information
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate L. Turabian (Print) On order
- ACS Style Guide (Print) QD 8.5 A25 2006
- AIP Style Manual American Institute of Physics
- (Print) QC 5. 45 A45 1990
- AMA Manual of Style
(Print) R 110. A53 3 2007
- The Associated Press Stylebook 2008 (Print) PN 4783. A82 2008
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Print) KF 245. U55 2005
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
(Print) T 11. S386
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Print)
Several APA style manuals are available at the Knowledge Commons Desk to check out for one week. One copy is only available for use in the library.
Although the complete APA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the APA style. Below are several of the best. Note that the third and the last links include a sample paper in APA style.
- APA Reference Styleby Prof. MIke Strahan from Northern Michigan University
- APAStyle.org: Citing Electronic ReferencesHelp from the American Psychological Assocaition
- APA Formatting and Style GuideCreated by the Writing Lab at Purdue University
- Documenting SourcesThe Web site for a print booklet, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fourth Edition, by Diana Hacker. Includes a sample papaer in APA style.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Print)
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Although the complete MLA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the MLA style. Below are several of the best. Note that the third links include a sample paper in MLA style
- MLA DocumentationCreated by UW-Madison Writing Center
- MLA Formating and Style GuideCreated by the Writing Lab at Purdue University
- The Chicago Manual of Style byCall Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Both the 17th and 16 edition are available online and in print. Please check our library catalog for location and availability of older editions. The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation StyleCreated by the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin
- Chicago Manual of Style 17th EditionFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Librarian Contact Info
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860