Human Resources Management Guide: Style/Citation Manuals
- APAStyle.org covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.
- Beyond the MLA Handbook: Documenting Electronic Sources on the Internet
- Chicago Manual of Style (Princeton only)
- Citing Online Sources a list of several links from the Linguist
- Citing Sources has comparison tables for print & electronic (including MLA) (Duke)
- Citation Styles Online covers MLA, APA, Chicago and CBE
- Elements of Style - By William Strunk, Jr.; accessed thru Bartleby.com
- Karla's Guide to Citation Manuals annotated links to various styles for citing electronic, and other sources - MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc
- Research and Documentation Online By Diana Hacker; includes examples for citing the MLA, APA and CBE
- Style Sheets for Citing Internet & Electronic Resources Humanities (MLA & Chicago), Scientific (APA & CBE), and History (Turabian)
- Turabian Style: Sample Footnotes and Bibliographic Entries (6th edition)
Print resources are available in the Knowledge Commons (Level 2) of the Marriott Library
Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style. The most popular style guides are APA, Chicago, and MLA style. Other style guides include:
- A Handbook for Thesis and Dissertations Published by the Graduate School of the University of Utah
- See the Graduate School's Thesis Office website for more information
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers by Kate L. Turabian (Print) LB 2369. T8
- ACS Style Guide (Print) QD 8.5 A25 2006
- AIP Style Manual American Institute of Physics
- (Print) QC 5. 45 A45 1990
- AMA Manual of Style
(Print) R 110. A53 3 2007
- The Associated Press Stylebook 2008 (Print) PN 4783. A82 2008
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Print) KF 245. U55 2005
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
(Print) T 11. S386
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Print)
Several APA style manuals are available at the Knowledge Commons Desk to check out for one week. One copy is only available for use in the library.
Although the complete APA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the APA style. Below are several of the best. Note that the third and the last links include a sample paper in APA style.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Print)(Print)
Although the complete MLA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the MLA style. Below are several of the best. Note that the third links include a sample paper in MLA style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Also includes the popular Chicago Style Q&A and the Quick Guide for "clear examples of how to use Chicago-style citation" and "provides convenient tools such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets".
Helpful Web site about Chicago style.
Bibliographic Management Software (EndNote, EndNote Web, and Zotero)
EndNote, EndNote Web, and Zotero are bibliographic management programs that help you manage, store, and organize references.
EndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Significant learning curve
- If you are a scholar or aspiring scholar you should invest the time now in order to save time and headaches later
- You may purchase Endnote X.3 from the Office of Software Licensing (You may want to use both EndNote and EndNote Web)
- See EndNote guide
EndNote Web is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.
- Easier to use
- Undergraduate student focus
- See EndNote Web guide
Zotero (Firefox plug-in)
- Free and easy to use
- Useful when trying to import references from Google Scholar
- If you have EndNote, you can import hundreds of references at a time using Google Scholar.
J. Willard Marriott Suite 2110 P