Research Data Access Resources: Government and Utah Data

• Survey of Income and Program Participation

  A longitudinal U. S. government survey of the financial status of American households conducted since 1984. Covers government transfer and service programs, pension coverage, housing affordability, financial assistance for education, among other topics. Data may also be accessed via ICPSR. However be aware this is a difficult set of surveys to use.
• U. S. Census - IPUMS

  Public use samples of individual-level data from the U. S. census.
• Current Population Survey

  A monthly survey of approximately 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years. A detailed demographic supplement is conducted annually in March, and supplements on other topics, including computer use and school enrollment.
• ResearchDataGov.org

  Research Data Gov is a collection of data produced and shared by the following agencies:
  ○ Bureau of Economic Analysis
  ○ Bureau of Justice Statistics
  ○ Bureau of Labor Statistics
  ○ Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  ○ Census Bureau
  ○ USDA Economic Research Service
  ○ Energy Information Administration
  ○ USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
  ○ National Center for Education Statistics
  ○ National Center for Health Statistics
  ○ National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
  ○ SSA Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics
  ○ IRS Statistics of Income Division
  ○ FRB Microeconomic Surveys Unit
  ○ SAMHSA Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality
  ○ USDA National Animal Health Monitoring System

• Utah's IBIS - Utah's Indicator-Based Information Systerm
• Utah Cancer Registry

  The UCR promotes public health in Utah by maintaining cancer data, which makes the monitoring of trends in incidence and mortality as well as the evaluation of prevention and control measures possible.
• Utah GIS Portal

  Access to Utah's State Geographic Information Database (SGID). "Currently the SGID contains over 400 thematic layers of geospatial data." And to the
  Automated Geographic Reference Center (AGRC), a state agency charged with facilitating an enterprise-wide approach to the implementation of digital mapping, locational analysis, and related geographic technologies in Utah."
• Utah Government Data Sets

  A variety of data files and sources for Utah.
• Utah Population Database

  UPDB at the University of Utah is one of the world's richest sources of in-depth information that supports research on genetics, epidemiology, demography, and public health"
• Utah Open Data Catalog

  Includes state census data and other data sources such as the Bureau of Economic and Business Research, the Utah Department of Workforce Services, and the Utah State Tax Commission.

• ICPSR

  • 

  Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
• U.S. Census Bureau

  "Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
• U. S. Government data and statistical resources

  Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes all topics from health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labor and many more.

• Additional Services
• More Subject Guides