Research Data Access Resources: Humanities

The American Perceptions of Artists Survey 2002 was a study of the public's opinions about the lifestyles and work of artists in the United States. It is a survey of adults in the United States and nine local surveys conducted in Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Seattle, and Washington, D.C.

Collections of statistics, graphics, and summary results from data-mining about the arts produced by the National Endowment for the Arts. Includes Survey of Public Participation in the Arts.

The Performing Arts Research Coalition is a collaborative project that seeks to improve the way performing arts organizations gather information. The process is being developed in ten cities and involves four types of data collection: administrative data, audience surveys, subscriber surveys, and household surveys.

MAID contains a select but growing body of materials digitized from our collections.
These assets comprise a broad range of materials, including letters, art documentation and ephemera, images of artists and art-world personalities, installation photographs of MoMA and MoMA PS1 exhibitions, historical views of the Museum building and Sculpture Garden, administrative records, and more.

The Artists dataset contains 15,243 records, representing all the artists who have work in MoMA's collection and have been cataloged in our database. It includes basic metadata for each artist, including name, nationality, gender, birth year, death year, Wiki QID, and Getty ULAN ID.

This study examined the involvement of Chicago-area individuals in informal art related activities.

The Inventories of American Painting and Sculpture document more than 400,000 art works in public and private collections worldwide. The Inventory of American Paintings includes works by artists who were active in America by 1914.

This dictionary contains over 2,500 entries covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day. It includes biographical entries, styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries.

Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.

This updated dictionary of modern and contemporary art contains over 2,000 entries on a vast range of subjects, including movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries. Fascinating, comprehensive, and authoritative, it is a useful A-Z guide for art students and teachers, artists, and art lovers.

This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on artists, architects, and their works. These entries are supplementary to other art and architecture titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors.

Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. Artstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Contains biographies of notable, contemporary visual arts individuals in North America including artists, critics, curators, administrators, librarians, historians, collectors, conservators, educators and dealers as well as notable artists from the past. Entries include classification, media, birth information, education, exhibitions, business and professional positions, honors and awards.

The quantity and scope of research material that is available varies by region, period, and type of document. These resources are currently accessible through two interfaces:
The Getty Provenance Index® (GPI) provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books.
The Getty Provenance Index: Additional Databases provides access to the Collectors Files, Payments to Artists, and Public Collections.

The Montias database, compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias, contains information from 1,280 inventories of goods (paintings, prints, sculpture, furniture, etc.) owned by people living in 17th century Amsterdam. Drawn from the Gemeentearchief (now known as the Stadsarchief), the actual dates of the inventories range from 1597-1681.

The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars).

OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.

CLARIN is a European Research Infrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences, focusing on language resources (data and tools). CLARIN provides several services, such as access to language data and tools to analyze data, and offers to deposit research data, as well as direct access to knowledge about relevant topics in relation to (research on and with) language resources.

META-SHARE, the open language resource exchange facility, is devoted to the sustainable sharing and dissemination of language resources (LRs) and aims at increasing access to such resources in a global scale.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you here.

The History Data Service data collection brings together over 650 separate studies transcribed, scanned or compiled from historical sources. The studies cover a wide range of historical topics, from the seventh century to the twentieth century. Although the primary focus of the collection is on the United Kingdom, it also includes a significant body of cross-national and international data collections. Examples of topics covered include: nineteenth and twentieth century statistics, manuscript census records, state finance data, demographic data, mortality data, community histories, electoral history and economic indicators.

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data.

The Wilson Center Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. It contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation.

The DRH is a quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious history. It consists of a variety of entry types including religious group and religious place. Scholars contribute entries on their area of expertise by answering questions in standardised polls. Answers are initially coded in the binary format Yes/No or categorically, with comment boxes for qualitative comments, references and links. Experts are able to answer both Yes and No to the same question, enabling nuanced answers for specific circumstances. Media, such as photos, can also be attached to either individual questions or whole entries. The DRH captures scholarly disagreement, through fine-grained records and multiple temporally and spatially overlapping entries. Users can visualize changes in answers to questions over time and the extent of scholarly consensus or disagreement.

Survey of voting behavior in the United States, conducted biennially since 1956. Basic questions on religious identification and attendance at religious services have been asked throughout the time series but the religion module was substantially widened and improved starting in 1990, making possible richer analyses of how religion affects political attitudes and behavior within the United States. Contains links to download all the data.

This data set offers information on Americans' opinions about the role of the arts relative to religion.

ARDA holds over 200 surveys on religion, including general population surveys, surveys of selected religious groups, surveys of religious professionals, and aggregate church, congregational and denominational data.

The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource.

A crossnational collaborative program that develops topical modules dealing with important areas of social science as supplements to regular national surveys in more than 20 countries. Topics have included religion, family and gender roles, role of the government, social inequality, the environment, and work attitudes.

A nationally representative study of congregations carried out via interviews with congregational informants, mostly clergy. Conducted in conjunction with the 1998 General Social Survey (GSS). Respondents reported on a wide variety of congregational activities. A sample size of 1236.

Investigates neighborhood-community integration, services, crime and community contact, the role of religion and the church, physical and mental health, self-esteem, life satisfaction, employment, the effects of chronic unemployment, the effects of race on the job, interaction with family and friends, racial attitudes, race identity, group stereotypes, and race ideology.

The North American Jewish Data Bank is a repository for demographic and other quantitative social scientific surveys about Jews in the United States and Canada. It archives the National Jewish Population Surveys as well as a number of community surveys.

The series is designed to enable a cross-national comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2005. The World Values Survey Association is carrying out a new wave of surveys during 2011-2012.

Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.
From economics and politics to literature and philosophy, you can discover more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law.

The Philosopher’s Index is published by the Philosopher’s Information Center, a nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to serving the global philosophical community. The most important contribution of the center is the publication of philosophy’s preeminent reference resource, The Philosophers Index. The Philosophers Index has remained the world’s most authoritative and comprehensive bibliography in philosophy for 50 years.

The ECHO initiative aims to create an infrastructure to bring cultural heritage on the Internet, and builds up a network of institutions, research projects and other users which provide content and technology for the common infrastructure, with the aim to enrich the "agora" and to create a future Web of Culture and Science.

The web service correspSearch aggregates metadata of letters from printed and digital scholarly editions and publications. It offers the aggregated correspondence metadata both via a feature-rich interface and via an API. The letter metadata are provided by scholarly projects of different institutions in a standardised, TEI-XML-based exchange format and and by using IDs from authority files (GeoNames, GND, VIAF etc.). The web service itself does not set a spatial or temporal collection focus. Currently, the time frame of the aggregated correspondence data ranges from 1500 to the 20th century.

Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.

"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.

Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes all topics from health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labor and many more.