Research Data Access Resources: Natural Sciences

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.

The DOE Data Explorer (DDE) is an information tool to help you locate DOE's collections of data and non-text information and, at the same time, retrieve individual datasets within some of those collections. It includes collection citations prepared by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information, as well as citations for individual datasets submitted from DOE Data Centers and other organizations.

The Open Science Framework (OSF) shares projects, data, and materials for researchers. It also doubles as a repository and research development tool.

nanoHUB.org is the premier place for computational nanotechnology research, education, and collaboration.

NASA Life Sciences Portal is the next generation of the Life Sciences Data Archive for Human, Animal and Plant Research NASA's Human Research Program (HRP) conducts research and develops technologies that allow humans to travel safely and productively in space.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Pubchem contains 3 databases. 1. PubChem BioAssay: The PubChem BioAssay Database contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure.

The Entrez search and retrieval system cross-searches NCBI (National Center for Biotechnical Information) databases.

The Chapman and Hall/CRC Dictionary of Organic Compounds contains concise chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on over 255,000 of the most important organic compounds.

The PeptideAtlas validates expressed proteins to provide eukaryotic genome data. Peptide Atlas provides data to advance biological discoveries in humans. The PeptideAtlas accepts proteomic data from high-throughput processes and encourages data submission.

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) is an archive of experimentally determined three-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules that serves a global community of researchers, educators, and students. The data contained in the archive include atomic coordinates, crystallographic structure factors and NMR experimental data.

Chemindex is a guide to information resources on over 200,000 chemicals. Each Chemindex record contains indentification information on a unique chemical substance, including chemical names and synonyms as well as the CAS registry number Records are in English.

A collection of Cutting-Edge Interactive Databases and Dictionaries.

The Merck database comes from the Royal Society of Chemistry. It contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck index online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.

The NIH 3D Print Exchange (the “Exchange”) is an open, comprehensive, and interactive website for searching, browsing, downloading, and sharing biomedical 3D print files, modeling tutorials, and educational material. "Biomedical" includes models of cells, bacteria, or viruses, molecules like proteins or DNA, and anatomical models of organs, tissue, and body parts.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 58 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search.

Physical Reference Data compiles physical data and biblographic sources: Physical constants, atomic spectroscopy data, molecular spectroscopic data, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray data, nuclear physics data etc.

The information accumulated in the SPECTR-W3 ADB contains over 450,000 records and includes factual experimental and theoretical data on ionization potentials, energy levels, wavelengths, radiation transition probabilities, oscillator strengths, and (optionally) the parameters of analytical approximations of electron-collisional cross-sections and rates for atoms and ions.

Core nuclear reaction database contain recommended, evaluated cross sections, spectra, angular distributions, fission product yields, photo-atomic and thermal scattering law data, with emphasis on neutron induced reactions.

The Nanomaterial Registry is a publicly available repository for curated research data on nanomaterials, including their physico-chemical characteristics and their interactions with biological and environmental systems.

CHIANTI (An Atomic Database for Spectroscopic Diagnostics of Astrophysical Plasmas) consists of a critically evaluated set of up-to-date atomic data, together with user-friendly programs written in Interactive Data Language (IDL) and Python to calculate the spectra from astrophysical plasmas.

Open Power System Data is a free-of-charge data platform dedicated to electricity system researchers.

The Portal includes nuclear structure, decay and reaction data, as well as literature information. Data can be searched for using optimized query forms; results are presented in tables and interactive plots.

The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.

NASA’s Earthdata website is your gateway to one of the planet’s largest repositories of Earth observation data. These data – along with the tools for analyzing and working with these data – are available to you fully, openly, and without restriction.

GeoReM is a Max Planck Institute database for reference materials of geological and environmental interest, such as rock powders, synthetic and natural glasses as well as mineral, isotopic, biological, river water and seawater reference materials. GeoReM contains published analytical data and compilation values (major and trace element concentrations and mass fractions, radiogenic and stable isotope ratios).

The OECD Environmental Statistics database provide a unique collection of policy-relevant environmental statistics.

A comprehensive paperback dictionary of botany, this edition provides over 5500 concise entries and includes coverage of biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics evolution, biogeography, Earth history, and the Earth sciences.

The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM's 1986 Long-Range Plan. It is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed.

Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity.

Collection of various motion capture recordings (walking, dancing, sports, and others) performed by over 140 subjects. The database contains free motions which you can download and use.

Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.

"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.

The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data:
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.