Honors Writing 2211: MLA & APA citation Style
Style Manuals
- APA 6th ed. IllustratedThis is an incredibly useful Powerpoint to help you understand how to use APA 6th edition.
Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style. The most common style in the social sciences is the APA style, created by the American Psychological Association.
NoodleTools (found through the Article Databases link). NoodleTools is a web application that helps students with all aspects of research project management: APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian documentation; annotated bibliographies; notecards; resource analysis; etc.
For formats not covered in NoodleTools or if your professor suggests, use the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue's site on APA style.
MLA Style
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by
Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
Call Number: PN147 .G444 2008ISBN: 9780873522977Publication Date: 2008
Although the complete MLA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the MLA style. Below are several of the best.
- MLA DocumentationCreated by UW-Madison Writing Center
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (print)
Several APA style manuals are available at the Knowledge Commons Desk to check out for one week. One copy is only available for use in the library.
Although the complete APA style manual is not available online, many organizations and idividuals have created Web sites with helpful information about the APA style. Below are several of the best. Note that the second and the last links include a sample paper in APA style.
- APAStyle.org: Citing Electronic ReferencesHelp from the American Psychological Assocaition
- APA Formatting and Style GuideCreated by the Writing Lab at Purdue University
- Documenting SourcesThe Web site for a print booklet, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fourth Edition, by Diana Hacker. Includes a sample paper in APA style.
