Western Waters Digital Library: WWDL Collections

The Records of the Central Arizona and Boulder Canyon Project is comprised of selections from the Carl T. Hayden Papers and other sources. As Arizona Congressman from 1911-1970, Hayden influenced natural resource development, water reclamation, and land-use management, culminating in 1968 with the Central Arizona Project (CAP) to transport Colorado River water to Phoenix and Tucson via a series of aqueducts.

Search a variety of finding aids centered on water and water rights. This collection covers topics such as the Central Utah Project, the Upper Colorado River Act, Small Reclamation Projects Act, the Watershed Act of 1954, and the Dixie Reclamation Project. Papers from United States Senators Wallace Foster Bennett and Arthur V. Watkins are included.

Find papers from Humboldt State University's Institutional Repository. The Humboldt Bay Community contains collections of materials relating to all aspects of the Humboldt Bay ecosystem.

Caltech Library System manages CaltechKHR, a repository of technical reports, on behalf of the W. M. Keck Laboratory of Hydraulics and Water Resources at Caltech.

California Water Documents, a Claremont Colleges Digital Library collection, consists primarily of bulletins of the California Department of Water Resources and its predecessor agencies. These bulletins present findings from hundreds of investigations conducted throughout the years from one end of the State to the other. Topics represented in this collection include: water quality, flood control, water distribution, water conservation, water usage, and drought as well as some geology. The collection also contains materials pertaining to the creation and operation of the Central Valley Project, the California State Water Project, and their component units.

Search a variety of studies on Cache la Poudre Basin, Clear Creek, and more.

Search a variety of materials focused on the development of water in Colorado and the West. Collections from individuals as well as water organizations are included, covering subject areas such as water resource management, law, and engineering.

Find a variety of digitized materials related to the Central Utah Project, as well as finding aids covering collections from Senators Wallace F. Bennett and Arthur V. Watkins.

From UNLV's Institutional Repository, the Water Publications collection showcases the use of limited water resources in the Intermountain West. Numerous scholars have produced publications describing best practices and the impacts of human population growth in this geographic region.

Search the Hawaiian Waters project - the goal of the project is to identify, digitize, and enhance access to monographs and reports about water, focusing on publications of the governments of the Hawaiian kingdom (though 1893), Republic (1894-1898), as well as the state and counties of Hawaii.

Search a variety of historical and contemporary material focused on western water issues. Collections include Arizona vs California Legal Records, the Colorado Riverbed Case Records, and papers on the Central Utah Project. Also included are photograph collections centered on water systems in the Salt Lake Valley, Glen Canyon, Flaming Gorge Dam, and much more.

Klamath Waters Digital Library is an online resource dedicated to providing comprehensive access to information on water issues of the Klamath Watershed. The digital library encompasses a collection of full-text documents, reports, articles, photographs and maps from the 1800’s to the present as well as many special collections.

Find information in the University of New Mexico's Institutional Repository. Theses on water issues are included, as well as Colorado River Basin studies.

New Mexico Waters contains historical source material about rivers, irrigation, ecology, and the economic impact of water resources on communities in New Mexico, primarily along the Rio Grande. The material is from the collections of the Center for Southwest Research and the Map and Geographic Information Center, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

The Harriet Montgomery Water Resources Collection contains items pertaining to water resources in the Missouri River Basin, mostly in South Dakota. The collection is focused on the controversy surrounding efforts to irrigate crops using water from Lake Oahe and includes photographs, newspaper clippings, brochures, maps, correspondence and government reports.

Search finding aids from Northwest Digital Archives on topics such as fishing, fisheries, water, water rights, and more.

Search both finding aids and online items from the Water Resources Collections and Archives collection, covering both contemporary and historic materials.

A collaboration between Oregon State University and the University of Oregon, Oregon Digital provides online access to the two university's unique digitized collections. Digital collections harvested in Western Waters include the Columbia River Basin Collection, Pacific Northwest Stream Survey Photograph Collection, and Water and Watersheds Initiative Collection, providing access to current and historic resources relating to the Pacific Northwest water basin and watersheds. Collections consist of photographs, seminars series publications, published research reports, special reports, historical records and much more.

Search technical reports and dissertations from the University of Washington Libraries and papers from the Water Center.

Search information from Oregon State's Institutional Repository, including papers from The Oregon Water Conference and the Water Resources Research Institute.

Find research from the University of Hawaii's Water Resources Research Center, with a focus on water and wastewater management in Hawaii's unique climate.

The Texas Water Resources Institute is a unit of Texas AgriLife Research, the Texas AgriLife Extension Service and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University and a member of the National Institutes for Water Resources. It provides leadership to stimulate priority research and Extension educational programs in water resources within the Texas A&M University System and throughout Texas.

Find information about Native American water rights issues, as well as the Colorado River, Mexican Water Treaty, the Central Arizona Project, and more.

Search collections centered on the construction of the Dworshak Dam, the Columbia River Basin Project, and reports and papers from the Idaho Waters Digital Library.

Search documents from The Water Center at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The Water Center operates within the University of Nebraska's Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources (IANR) at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln's (UNL) research and agricultural campus. Its mission is to implement and facilitate water and water-related research, teaching, extension and public outreach programming within the University of Nebraska system.

The Platte River Basin in Nebraska is a collection of records about the history of Nebraska’s water, as well as state and federal government technical and economic studies regarding groundwater, hydrology, land use, and watershed management in the Platte River Basin.

The Center for Research in Water Resources (CRWR) is a research component of the Bureau of Engineering Research at The University of Texas at Austin. CRWR carries out advanced research, education, design, and planning in water resources and waste management, primarily related to Texas but also involving other areas of the country as well as foreign countries. The collection includes information from a variety of surveys, reports, and technical data.

Search Maps of the San Joaquin-Sacramento Delta and John Muir Drawings focusing on the landscapes of California and Alaska.

Search collections on cloud seeding, the Grand Coulee Dam, the Seattle Power and Water Supply collection, the Columbia River Basin, and images of fishing and fisheries in the pacific northwest.

Search across collections focusing on the development of water in Las Vegas and Nevada. Las Vegas and Water in the West focuses on the construction and development of the Hoover Dam. Also included are The Historic Landscape of Nevada, and Southern Nevada and Las Vegas: History in Maps.

The Bear River Watershed’s geography, history, and development are the primary focus of this collection of images, maps, papers, and reports. Funded by grants from the Utah State University Water Initiative, this project digitizes selected materials cited in the Bear River Watershed Historical Bibliography, including photographs of the Bear River from the 1860s to the 1990s, manuscripts and records of local irrigation companies, research on the societal impact of reclamation development in the Bear River Basin, and the papers of Utah Governor George Dewey Clyde, who as a former USU Engineering Dean collected documentation on Bear River water conditions as far back as the 1920s. Originals are housed in Utah State University Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives.

Search collections about early Washington maps and government reports on the Columbia River. The Frank A Banks and Clifford R. Koester collections provide insight into the community, construction, and evolution of the Columbia Basin Project and specifically the Grand Coulee Dam.