Streamed Video: Streaming Resources at Marriott Library

Streaming video is an important part of teaching at the University, and the Marriott Library devotes resources in support of curriculum.

The streaming databases are found under the Articles Databases tab on the library front page (http://www.lib.utah.edu)  You can then select "Videos" from the pull down menu "Select Database by Type"   This will give you a list of the video databases.

The library also streams it's own collection materials and filmed events (http://stream.lib.utah.edu/index.php?c=browse&m=videos) Some of the items are open to anyone, others you must be a student, faculty or staff member and login with your UNID  to view.

Questions can be directed to Joni Clayton (joni.clayton@utah.edu)

Academic Video Online (AVON)
A comprehensive video database that delivers video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience it includes: documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.

Alexander Street Press Databases
Search all of the Alexander Street Databases that the Library owns at the same time.  Or, narrow down to one of the databases below:

American History in Video
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events - and their presentation over time - through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. The database organizes the video by historical era as well as relevance to important historical people and events, providing the videos with historical context. New content is added periodically.

Dance in Video
Dance in Video features streaming videos of 20th century dance performances and documentaries about choreographers and dance training. Includes dance styles ranging from ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisational dance. The database is updated regularly, and currently contains over 300 videos.

Ethnographic Video Online (v.1)
Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a collection of resources for the study of human culture and behavior featuring over 1,000 films for more than 750 hours of video. The collection covers many regions of the world and features the work of a variety of influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains over 500 hours of opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent performers, conductors, and opera houses.

Theatre on Video
Theatre on Video provides access to streaming videos of over 360 performances of the world's plays and film documentaries as well as a collection of filmed interviews with playwrights, actors, and directors, totaling nearly 500 hours of content.

Digitalia Film Collection
A diverse selection of movies and documentaries available to stream from around the world. Foreign language films in Bosnian, Russian, German, Spanish, French and Italian to name a few.

Digital Theatre Plus
This database provides access to over 2000 videos, including international staged productions, interviews, documentaries, and trainings. It also provides scripts, essays, study guides, workbooks, and a few theatre-related poems, short stories, and graphic novels. Instructors will also find lesson plans and other training resources. 

Docuseek2
3,000 streamed films covering every subject.

Europeana, Europe's Multimedia
Europeana is a collection of the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items are found in Europeana's database, including paintings, drawings, maps, photos, pictures of museum objects, books, newspapers, letters, diaries, archival papers, music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts, and videos such as films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.

Films on Demand (Films for the Humanities and Sciences)
This database provides access to a large collection of educational films which can be streamed online. Some of the publishers whose films appear in this database are ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, among others. Films may be viewed individually or used by faculty as instructional material for courses.

Medici TV
Medici.tv is an online catalog made up of over 1,200 classical music programs from a variety of artists and composers. The database also partners with orchestras and concert halls around the world in order to broadcast live musical events.

Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.

University of Utah Multimedia Archives: Audio/Visual Exhibits
Videos that pertain to Utah and the University.

University of Utah's Digital Collections
Collections range from local interest to international in scope. Collections are listed in alphabetical order.

Western Waters Digital Library
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) contains government reports, classic water literature, legal transcripts, water project records, personal papers, photographic collections, and video materials about the Columbia, Colorado, Platte, and Rio Grande river basins.