Digital Preservation Basics: Resources
A brief overview of the Digital Preservation (DP) discipline to include basic concepts, valuable resources and documentation, a summary of the DP program at the Marriott Library, and an introduction to Rosetta - the Library's new DP System by ExLibris.
Websites: Digital Preservation Basics
- Introduction to Digital PreservationDigital preservation aims to ensure that a digital collection remains usable, regardless of the inevitable changes in technology the future will bring. Without the appropriate preservation methods in place a digital collection can easily become inaccessible and so useless in just a few years.
- Digital Preservation Management: Implementing Short-term Strategies for Long-term ProblemsYou will find here definitions, key concepts, practical advice, exercises, and up-to-date references.
- Digital Preservation: DefinitionsThese definitions have been developed to promote an understanding of digital preservation within the library community (ALA Conference 2007).
- Glossary of Digital Preservation (NDSA-LoC)This glossary provides a common language for NDSA members to communicate about digital preservation work while also serving as a general digital stewardship glossary.
Websites: Documentation and Best Practices
- Guidelines for the Preservation of Digital Heritage (UNESCO)These guidelines are part of a campaign by UNESCO to preserve and improve access to the digital heritage of the world’s peoples.
- Digital Preservation Handbook (DPC)This handbook provides an authoritative and practical guide to the management of digital resources and issues in sustaining access to them over time.
- Framework of Guidance for Building Good Digital CollectionsThis NISO Recommended Practice is a recommended "best practice" or "guideline" for methods, materials, or practices intended to give guidance to the user.
- OAIS Reference Model and Recommended PracticeThis Recommended Practice establishes a common framework of terms and concepts which make up an Open Archival Information System (OAIS).
- Trusted Digital Repositories: Attributes and ResponsibilitiesBuilt on and incorporating the OAIS standard, this RLG-OCLC report articulates a framework of attributes and responsibilities for Trusted Digital Repositories (TDR).
- Trustworthy Repositories Audit and Certification (TRAC)This document provides the criteria and checklist to certify an organization as a TDR.
Websites: Digital Preservation News/Articles
- Digital Preservation at the Library of CongressThis is the home of the National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA), Digital Preservation Outreach and Education, and the National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP). The site also provides a Digital Preservation Newsletter, blog posts, information on preserving personal data, and links to social media.
- Report: The incentives to preserve digital materialsRoles, scenarios, and economic decision-making for Digital Preservation
Brian F. Lavoie, Office of Research OCLC, April 2003
Educational Videos
Check out the Team Digital Preservation animated videos on YouTube. Created by Digital Preservation Europe, the videos aim to humorously educate people about the basic concepts surrounding digital preservation.
Library Resources
Preserving Digital Information by Call Number: Z701.3.C65 H86 2000ISBN: 1555703534Publication Date: 2000Here are the "best practices" recommended by professional associations and experts in preserving information in electronic formats. Topics include the nature of digital information, media fragility, technical obsolescence, system integrity, and "the digital record." Written by one of the nation's most respected preservation professionals, this manual provides a seven-step approach to implementing a system for preserving digital records. You'll find practical and specific guidance on: storage considerations, file formats, preserving e-mail messages and Web pages, and digital imaging.
Digital Preservation for Libraries, Archives, and Museums by Call Number: Z701.3 C65 C67 2014ISBN: 9780810887121Publication Date: 2014-04-10Digital Preservation in Libraries, Archives, and Museums represents a new approach to getting started with digital preservation: that of what cultural heritage professionals need to know as they begin their work. For administrators and practitioners alike, the information in this book is presented readably, focusing on management issues and best practices. This book addresses a broad group of resources that could be housed in any number of digital preservation systems. Digital Preservation will answer questions that you might not have even known you had, leading to more successful digital preservation initiatives."
Advanced Digital Preservation by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783642168093Publication Date: 2011There is growing recognition of the need to address the fragility of digital information, on which our society heavily depends for smooth operation in all aspects of daily life. This has been discussed in many books and articles on digital preservation, so why is there a need for yet one more? Because, for the most part, those other publications focus on documents, images and webpages “ objects that are normally rendered to be simply displayed by software to a human viewer. Yet there are clearly many more types of digital objects that may need to be preserved, such as databases, scientific data and software itself. The presentation style mainly aims at practitioners in libraries, archives and industry who are either directly responsible for preservation or who need to prepare for audits of their archives. Researchers in digital preservation and developers of preservation tools and techniques will also find valuable practical information here.
