Visual Communication: Inspiration
This guide provides links to resources and tools for creating visual materials to communicate a message and present information/data visually.
Suggested Viewings
Information is Beautiful: Ideas, issues, knowledge, data — visualized!
Cornell University Collection of Presidential Americana
Visual Complexity: "A unified resource space for anyone interested in the visualization of complex networks."
Guides for Related Topics
Suggested Readings
These are just a few books that communicate their message primarily through images.
Unflattening by This is an e-book. A current uNID and password are required for access.
The primacy of words over images has deep roots in Western culture. But what if the two are inextricably linked, equal partners in meaning-making? Written and drawn entirely as comics, Unflattening is an experiment in visual thinking. Nick Sousanis defies conventional forms of scholarly discourse to offer readers both a stunning work of graphic art and a serious inquiry into the ways humans construct knowledge.
The Visual Miscellaneum: A Colorful Guide to the World's Most Consequential Trivia by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: AG243 .M33 2009
AND
Marriott Library, Level 2, Fine Arts Library Collection: AG243 .M33 2009
102 Hours: An Iconographic Storytelling of the Boston Marathon Bombing by Marriott Library, Level 2, Fine Arts Library Collection: N8251.T38 O6 2014
Picture This: How Pictures Work by Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: NC960.B29 2000
AND
Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: NK1510.B258 1991
Oxide, by Craig HickmanMarriott Library, Level 2, Fine Arts Library Collection: TR647.H525 2014
Wordless Diagrams by Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: NC999.4.H64 A4 2005
