Visual Communication: Visualization & Design
This guide provides links to resources and tools for creating visual materials to communicate a message and present information/data visually.
Visualization Guidance at the UofU
- SCI InstituteAn internationally recognized leader in visualization, scientific computing, and image analysis applied to a broad range of application domains. Their overarching objective is to conduct application-driven research in the creation of new scientific computing techniques, tools, and systems.
Suggested Readings
Beautiful Evidence by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: P93.5 .T837 2006
Cognitive Style of Powerpoint by Marriott Library, General Collection, Level 2: P93.5 .T838 2006
Information Graphics by Fine Arts Library Collection, Level 2: P93.5 .R463 2012
Stop, Think, Go, Do: How typography & graphic design influence behavior by This is an e-book. A current uNID and password is required to access it.
Data Visualization: a Successful Design Process by This is an e-book. You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
Making Sense of Data III: a practical guide to designing interactive data visualizations by This is an e-book; You must be on campus or have a current uNID to access it.
Principles of Design
Smashing UX Design by See this e-book title along with others from Smashing Magazine at the link above. (This is an e-book. A current uNID and password is required to access it.)
Infographic Design: Smashing Magazine (And check out all their e-books at Marriott Library.)
Visual Design Basics
Fundamentals of Data Visualization by This is an e-book. A current uNID is required for access.
Information Visualization by Available as an e-book and in print. Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: S156.2 .W37 2000. The book offers practical guidelines that can be applied by anyone: interaction designers, graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers), data miners, and financial analysts.
The Graphic Designer's Electronic-Media Manual by This is an e-book. A current uNID and password are required to access it.
The Information Design Handbook by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: NC715 .V57 2008
The Non-Designer's Design and Type Book: design and typographic principles for the visual novice by Marriott Library, Level 1, General Collection: Z246 .W633 2008
Designing Pictorial Symbols by Marriott Library, Level 2, General Collection: NC999.4 H64 A4 1985
