State and Local Government Information : State Government
Help on seeking government information on the state, county, and city level.
- State AgenciesA list of State Agencies from Utah.gov
- State Budget ArchiveThe Budge Information Archive from the Governor's Office of Management & Budget provides the State's budget summaries and recommendations from 2000-2012
Statistics on State and Local Governments
- State and Local Government Finaces and EmploymentFrom the Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States. Provides data on revenues, expenditures, debt, and employment of state and local governments.
- globalEDGEInternational business and trade information on all 50 U.S. states. In addition to demographic, economic, and historical information on each state, you will find data on corporations with headquarters in each state, and links to state-specific resources.
- Federal, State, and Local GovernmentIt is a part of The Census Bureau’s statistical databases. It provides 2012 Census of Government, government employment and payroll, Government Finance Statistics, federal spending on selected programs, annual/quarterly survey of tax revenue for state and local governments, list and structure of governments from 1992 and on. It also provides Criminal Justice Statistics, Elementary-Secondary Education Statistics, and Library Statistics.
Journals and Serials about State Government
Below are some helpful Journals and Serials to look ar when reseraching state government information.
- State Politics & Policy Quarterly2001-present; in print and online.
The SPPQ publishes high quality academic studies that develop and test general hypotheses of political behavior and policymaking, exploiting the unique advantages of the states. Peer-reviewed and published quarterly.
- Governing1987-present; in print and online.
A national monthly magazine published in Washington, D.C.
- State Government1926-1986; discontinued; in print only
Located in the Qunney Law Library
- Subject Compilations of State Laws1960-present; online only; via HeinOnline Database
A comprehensive source for identifying thousands of articles, books, government documents, loose-leaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects
Comparing State Governments and Performance
- Council of State Governments Knowledge CenterData and reports from the CSG organized by policy issue
- Book of the States OnlineComparisons for states and territories with tables, charts and figures illustrating how state government operates. It also includes more than 30 articles from state leaders, innovative thinkers, noted scholars and CSG’s in-house policy experts that analyze and report on the transformations taking place in state government.