Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

UGS 2255-001 Medical Humanities: Art, Medicine,& Culture: Reserve Materials

Block U Course taught in Spring 2015

StatRef

E-Books Available

Marriott Library Reserve (Available on Level 2)

Cross-cultural medicine
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor    RA418.5 T73 C765 2003
20+ page chapters on various population including: Blacks and African Americans, Latinos, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Arab Americans and American Muslims.  Includes chapters on caring for immigrants and religion and spirituality in health care.  Sub-titles in each chapter may cover: traditional healing practices and biomedical treatments, disease causation, diet, health issues, gender roles and reproductive health, etc.

Cultural competence in health care: A guide for professionals

Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor   RA418.5 T73 C852
Chapter 4 has 3 page overviews on African Americans, Native American Groups, Muslims and Arab Americans, Asian Americans, and Hispanic Americans.

Cultural competence in health education and health promotion

Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA 418.5 T73 C 853
Chapter 11 covers aging and health education; Chapter 12 covers health issues and the LGBT population

Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious: Reference manual for health care providers
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA 418.5 T73 A53
This loose-leaf manual provides 8 to 10 page chapters on variety of groups  by religiousity and ethniciy including The Amish, Latter-Day Saints, Pacific Islanders, Sikhs, Buddhism, Arabs, Haitians, etc. Each chapter provides a background, health beliefs, kinship/social factors, and may have sections dealing with views on children, death, diet, etc.


Eliminating healthcare disparities in America: Beyond the IOM report
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor   RA563.M56 E45 2007

Health issues in Latino males: A social and structural approach
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA448.5.H57 H393 2010

Health issues in the Latino community
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA448.5.H57 H395 2001

Health promotion in multicultural populations : a handbook for practitioners and students
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor   RA427.8 .H432 2015

Health-seeking behaviors in ethnic populations
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA448.4 .H426 2007
Includes chapters on various populations including: Mexican Americans, African Americans, Nigerian Americans, Arab Americans, and Native Hawaiians.

Immigrant women's health: Problems and solutions
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor       RA448.5.I44 I44 1999



Mexican
Americans & health: Sana! sana!

Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA448.5.M4 T67 2001

Multicultural health
Lois Ritter
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor      RA418.5.T73 R58 2010
Includes chapters on: Hispanic and Latino American populations, American Indians and Alaska native populations, African Americans populations, Asian American and Pacific Islander populations, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) individuals.

Multicultural medicine and health disparities
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA418.5.T73 M855 2006

The Nation's Health (Eight edition)
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA445. N35 2011
 This 800+ page book is divided into 6 parts covering health outcomes, social, behavioral, and biological determinants of health, health care system including workforce, financing, and technology, care, ways to improve health, and directions for the future.

Race, ethnicity, and Health
RA 563. M56 R325 2002
This scholarly book discusses racial disparities from a structural, historical, conceptual point of view. Chapters discuss why racial disparites exist and factors that contribute to these disparities from various factors including provider, patient, and provider-patient interaction.

Refugee and immigrant health
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor   RA 418.5 T73 K45 2004
Brief 10 page chapters on a variety of populations including:Bosnia, Burma, Egypt, Laos, Mexico, Sudan, and VietnamEach chapter provides a brief introduction and  sections on religion, health beliefs and practices, and health problems and screening. May include sections on end of life and pregnancy and childbirth.

Tackling health inequities through public health practice: Theory to action
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA418.3.U6 T33 2010

The health of refugees: Public health perspectives from crisis to settlement
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA564.9.R43 H43 2003

Transcultural nursing
: Assessment and intervention

Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RT86.54 T 73 2008
Lengthy 20+ page chapters on the following populations including: African-Americans, Mexican Americans, Navajos, American Eskimos, Japanese Americans, Afghans and Afghan Americans, Chinese Americans, Filipino Americans, Vietnamese Americans, East Indian Hindu Americans, Haitian Americans, Jewish Americans, French Canadians from Quebec, and Puerto Rican Americans.


Transcultural nursing: Concepts, theories, research, & practice
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RT86.54 L44 2002
From a nursing perspective, each 10+ page chapter has sections on: cultural values, social structure, health, illness, and care beliefs and practices. Populations covered include: Arab Muslims, African Americans, Philippine Americans, Taiwanese Americans, Native Americans, Mexican Americans, etc.


Unequal opportunity: Health disparities affecting gay and bisexual men in the United States
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor  RA564.9 H65 U94 2008



U.S.-Mexico border health: Issues for regional and migrant populations

Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor    RA446.5.M49 U8 1998


Vulnerable populations in the United States
Marriott Library Reserve 2nd Floor RA418.5.P6 S54 2005

2010 edition is available online http://site.ebrary.com/lib/utah/docDetail.action?docID=10441507

 

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library