Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

Using Wix to Create a Digital History Project

Created for Dr. Maile Arvins "History of Hawaii" Class

Finding Images

Finding Images for Your Exhibit

It's easy to add images to your exhibit, but you want to make sure you don't violate copyright. Failing to attribute the source of your images is just the same as plagiarizing information sources. Look for images in the public domain or with some kind of license to share like a Creative Commons license. 

Image Sources

Check the metadata (descriptive information) for "Rights" or "Attribution" fields to find out how the images can be used and cited. 

If an item is in the public domain, it is free to use, but it's still a good scholarly practice to say where you found it. 

J. Willard Marriott Library

  • J. Willard Marriott Digital Library

    Includes material from J. Willard Marriott Library's Special Collections, Eccles Health Science Library, University of Utah partners, various Utah partners including the Department of Heritage and Arts. Currently over 300 collections and 572k records. Includes advanced search feature seen below:

  • Utah Digital Newspapers

    This site currently holds more than two million pages from newspapers across the state of Utah, and it continues to grow. Use facets to browse by article, advertisements, death and birth notices, etc., as well as paper title. Advanced search feature is available. Browse papers included by county and a list of titles in the "Browse" section. Be sure to check the "Papers Scanned" section to view papers and date ranges as certain years are included for each paper.

Digital Library Aggregators

Digital library aggregators are portals that pull content from a group of digital libraries, typically based on region. The University of Utah's J. Willard Marriott Digital Library is pulled into the Mountain West Digital Library. The United States has many digital library groups (or consortia) based on a single state and, in some cases, groups of states in a geographic region. These regional digital libraries are then pulled into the main Digital Public Library of America (DPLA). 

  • Mountain West Digital Library

    Includes digital library collections from Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Oregon, and Hawaii. Currently 960k items accessible via MWDL. Includes advanced search feature and browsability of facets.

  • Digital Public Library of America

    Covers all of United States, providing access to over 29.5 million items, including MWDL material. Includes digital exhibits, browsability of facets, and a map interface.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library