ULibraries Research Guides: Occupational and Recreational Therapies: Find Articles

What databases should I search for OT literature?

Listed below are our three favorite databases for locating OT literature (e.g. scholarly articles, conference proceedings, literature reviews).

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
OT Search This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration.
The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, just the bibliographic information to identify the material and the author's abstract when one exists. From the American Occupational Therapy Foundation and the American Occupational Therapy Association.
OTSeeker This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. OTseeker provides access to information to inform occupational therapy.

What are some key OT journals?

Listed below are a few OT journals that are heavily used by OT professors, students and professionals.

What databases should I search for RT literature?

Listed below are our favorite databases for locating RT literature (e.g. scholarly articles, conference proceedings, literature reviews).

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full-text sports & sports medicine journals, providing more than 530 journals, with full-text coverage extending back to 1985. Some journals have coverage extending earlier. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine.

What are some key RT journals?

Listed below are a few RT journals that are heavily used by RT professors, students and professionals.

American Journal of Play
Annual in Therapeutic Recreation
Journal of Rehabilitation
Therapeutic Recreation Journal
American Journal of Recreation Therapy
Please use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

What are some other databases for OT & RT literature?

Depending upon your research topic, the other databases listed below may be useful. Please consult a subject specialist from the libraries for more help.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
ECRI Guidelines Trust™ This link opens in a new window
An interactive practice guidelines portal. Free registration required.
Education Full Text + ERIC This link opens in a new window
This listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text databases. ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) focuses on education literature and resources. ERIC lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, as well as annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-relate…
This listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text databases. ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) focuses on education literature and resources. ERIC lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, as well as annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 200,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Education Full Text (EFT) provides coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. EFT contains the full text of articles with indexing cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERICâ€™s CIJE. PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Subjects covered by these databases include Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-Based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
HAPI, Health And Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Measurement instruments for clinical conditions or treatment outcomes, HAPI features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians.
Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas. Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Single user access; please log off when finished. Info Sheet (pdf)
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology. 1800 - present.
APA PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.

Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full-text sports & sports medicine journals, providing more than 530 journals, with full-text coverage extending back to 1985. Some journals have coverage extending earlier. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine.

Other Library Guides

Evaluating Sources: SIFT & PICK, RADAR, & ACT UP
by Lorelei Rutledge Last Updated Oct 28, 2024 2698 views this year
Evidence Based Practice
by Elizabeth Frakes Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 1364 views this year
Reference
by Ismaeil Hakimi Last Updated Oct 21, 2024 1501 views this year
Literature Reviews in the Health and Life Sciences
by Alfred Mowdood Last Updated Oct 15, 2024 135 views this year

Connect from off-campus

a laptop sitting open on a rock in the woods.

Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.

Click here:

Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar

OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.

Interlibrary Loan

Get library materials from other libraries for free!

Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.

Submit an interlibrary loan request

Learn how to submit an interlibrary loan request

Need help? Contact us

Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides