ULibraries Research Guides: Medicine: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for medicine. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

PubMed
• Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
UpToDate
• Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making. App available. Click here for app instructions.
DynaMed
• Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making. Use the app by creating a personal account & logging in on your device; see the instructions here.
AccessMedicine
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.

All medicine databases
Alphabetical list of all medicine databases.

Other Great Resources

Resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

ECRI Guidelines Trust™
An interactive practice guidelines portal. Free registration required.
Lexidrug
Drug information database, monographs contain dental information. App available, click here for instructions.
Micromedex
• Wired UHealth Network Access Only. Drug information database with monographs, interactions, and more. App available, email ehsl-reference@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
VisualDx
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.
NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource for dietary supplements, natural medicine, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

CINAHL Logo

APA PsycINFO
A large resource of behavioral science and mental health peer-reviewed literature.
CINAHL Complete
The main source for journal articles in nursing and allied health.
Embase
A large biomedical database full of published, peer-reviewed literature and conference abstracts.
Scopus
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
AgeLine
Premier resource for aging and gerontology, contains journals, books, and reports.

Resources to help with studying and test prep.

Anatomy.TV
Interactive 3D anatomy models. Includes MRIs, X-rays, animations, and movies.
AccessMedicine
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.
ClinicalKey
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

Study for Boards

BoardVitals
BoardVitals is a powerful exam review tool with access to review questions and practice tests for USMLE Step 1, 2, and 3; as well as Shelf exams.
REGISTER HERE or use the "Create an account" option from the sign in screen to register for an account using your utah.edu email address. Then download the BoardVitals app from Google Play or the App Store. See the Getting Started Guide
Clerkship Collection (LWW)
LWW Health Library Clerkship offers a comprehensive content collection targeting each of the core clinical rotations, from Internal Medicine to OB/GYN.