ULibraries Research Guides: Educators in Health Sciences: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for health professions education. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

PubMed
Comprehensive, free database which also includes articles about educating learners in health and biomedical sciences. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Scopus
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
Web of Science Core Collection
Multi-disciplinary (science, social sciences, arts, & humanities) database that indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Excellent for citation chaining.

MedEdPortal
MedEdPORTAL Publications promotes educational scholarship and collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.

APA PsycINFO
A large resource of peer-reviewed literature in psychology, including educational psychology.
Education Full Text + ERIC
A combination of two comprehensive education databases - Education Full Text and ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center).

Learning Material

These resources contain visuals that you can use for lectures & slides.

Anatomy.TV
A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy, supplemented with MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations.
ClinicalKey
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.
VisualDx
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases, including drug reactions. See the image use policy for guidance on using images for course materials.

Skin of Color Resources for Health Sciences Education
by Donna Baluchi Last Updated Jun 3, 2025 174 views this year

JAMAevidence
Provides users education concepts fundamental to the practice of evidence-based medicine (EBM), including study design and the “validity, importance, and applicability of claims”. Includes Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice and more.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The collection contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 publications, and provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years (1952-1962) have been added to the database. Many records from j…
Embase
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.

eBooks and case files that learners can use.

Anatomy.TV
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
AccessMedicine
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.
AccessPharmacy
Create a free Access profile to engage with all the content. See PDF to create Access profile
Explore online leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Updated regularly, AccessPharmacy gives instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading pharmacy textbooks .

MedEdPortal
MedEdPORTAL Publications promotes educational scholarship and collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
Tutorial from Duke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library, UNC-Chapel Hill
Teaching EBM (BestBETs)
Best Evidence Topics (BETs)
Evidence-Based Medicine: Teaching Materials
Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries
Interprofessional Tutorial on EBP
Open Educational Resource providing an in-depth lesson on evidence-based practice from University of Minnesota Health Sciences Libraries.