Criminology and Criminal Justice: SOC3575 Criminal Courts
what this guide is for
Keyword & Searching Help
Samples of keyword searches
(note: edit and choose your own! OR change to a different database and try them)
Video One: Strategies for Starting Out
keywords shown in video:
"wrongful conviction"
AND
racism OR discrimination OR racist OR "racial inequity""
AND
courts OR prosecution OR sentencing
recommended resource:
library catalog
Video Two: Keywords and Databases
keywords shown in video:
"drug courts"
AND
debate OR rhetoric OR argument OR effectiveness OR sustainability
recommended databases:
Criminal Justice Database
Criminology Collection
Video Three: Who is the intended audience?
keywords shown in video:
latinx OR latine OR latino OR chicano OR chicana OR hispanic
AND
values OR identity OR community
recommended databases:
Sociological Abstracts
also Try these keywords :
debate OR opinion OR rhetoric OR argument OR discourse
culture OR community OR values OR identity
Video Five: Images Finding & Citation Help
Interlibrary Loan
How do I get full text for free?
Watch this mercifully short video on
Inter Library Loan
(and as always, e-mail dale.larsen@utah.edu for help)
Public campaigns -a short history
Since well before written language, people have been influencing each others' decision-making by communicating. Here's a critically incomplete history of influencing communication to help with context of your social media assignment: https://youtu.be/ObDOtXgd5wE
Image from:
Advertisement: CRIME. (1984, 09). Essence, 15, 171.
Where are the best places to do research at the library?
RECOMMENDED DATABASES
Criminal Justice Database
Criminology Collection
Library Catalog (everything -highly recommended)
Academic Search Ultimate (A big mash of many disciplines)
Sociological Abstracts (One of Dale's fav's: societies, cultures, values identities)
PsycINFO (psychology, but with many applications in social sciences)
CINAHL (medical policy, procedure, intervention)
PAIS (public policy from around the world)
Scopus
Web of Science
Who are we talking to?
The messages above talk about the same thing
-why do they look so different?
Video 4: A note about appeals to values | Guide with samples & quotes
Maxwell, C.D., Almanza, K.R., & Pickering, C.E.Z. (2023). Coordinated community response to prevent elder abuse, neglect, and financial exploitation: randomized control trial. Journal of Experimental Criminology, 19(4), 1067-1083. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11292-022-09521-1
State Government of Victoria. (2021, June 23). Respect Victoria elder abuse campaign launched. https://www.vic.gov.au/respect-victoria-elder-abuse-campaign-launched
Your Librarian
I love to help with your research: from just seeing the assignment, to wrapping up with citation management -drop me a line or come by 1726C on the first floor of the Marriott Library
OFFICE HOURS
Send me an e-mail -I'd love to hear from you!
Objectives
Students will learn to effectively and efficiently use an academic library website in cooperation with open web and AI sites
Students will learn library resource and keyword search strategies for academic research
Students will learn the main ideas and framework of a scholarly article, how to find them at an academic library, and how to quickly interpret the main points each article makes
Students will learn the strategies of appeals to audience values in advertising and political campaigns in order to try them in their own assignments.
