Objectives:
By the end of the semester, you will be able to:
Our goals as librarians for you are:
Assignment 1: Library tour
Assignment 2: Encyclopedias & Handbooks, Usearch (Library Catalog) & Google Scholar
Assignment 3: EBSCOhost, Scopus, & Library Services
Assignment 4: Research Databases (Project Muse, Proquest, EBSCOhost, WorldCat, and Library of Congress (LOC)) & Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Assignment 5: Work in groups. Schedule appt. with librarian.
Listed below are 9 great starting points (websites & ebooks) for all HEDU 5300 groups.
Textbook for transcultural health care : a population approach: Cultural competence concepts in nursing care by 
Health promotion in multicultural populations: A handbook for practioners and students by
".... the Third Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations offers both students and practitioners an indispensable resource on assessment and implementation guidelines for promoting health and enhancing behaviors that optimize health in any cultural community. Leading experts explore a wide range of topics, including the context of culture, cross-cultural perceptions of health, conceptual approaches to multicultural health promotion, health disparities, and the contributions of multicultural populations. Using the Cultural Assessment Framework (CAF), this proven handbook includes a focus on six specific populations (Hispanic/Latino, African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, Pacific Islanders, and Arab Americans)....".
Handbook of psychotherapy and religious diversity by
..."his volume presents detailed information about the beliefs, practices, and clinical issues of clients from many of the Western and Eastern religions that are influential in the world and in North America, including Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, as well as some racial and ethnic traditions (e.g., African American and Asian American religions). It will help psychotherapists more fully honor and incorporate the unique religious beliefs and spiritual resources of clients who belong to a particular religious denomination or spiritual tradition...."
Physical activity in diverse populations by
The health benefits associated with regular physical activity are now widely recognized. This book examines how social determinants such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation and disability can impact on physical activity and its associated health outcomes. It explores the social, cultural, political and environmental factors that influence engagement in physical activity in a range of diverse populations and presents evidence-based, culturally appropriate strategies for targeting and promoting physical activity participation. Each chapter considers how the social determinants that impact on health are formed by the environments in which people live, work, learn and play. Incorporating a series of original case studies, this book analyzes physical activity behaviors in groups such as: African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans and Native Americans military veterans and physically disabled populations low-income populations rural populations LGBT populations. It also includes a variety of useful features such as key terms, summary points and critical thinking questions, as well as a chapter on international perspectives. Physical Activity in Diverse Populations: Evidence and Practice is vital reading for any course touching on social factors in physical activity behavior.
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
