ULibraries Research Guides: Metallurgical Engineering: Find Articles

TechStreet for Technical Standards

If you are looking for current technical standards such as the latest ASME, ASCE, ASHRAE, ISO, SAE, etc standards, please search TechStreet. Request the standard for free through the Marriott Library's Interlibrary Loan, or contact the SHEM team if you need it immediately. We may be able to purchase the standard for you. This service is only available for current U of U faculty, staff, or students.

Accuris Engineering Workbench
To access standards, user must create an account with University of Utah email, domains utah.edu or lists.utah.edu Campus access to the following standards: ASHRAE 90.1-2022 (I-P) and IEC 60601-1-2.

Standards & Codes Databases

Accuris Engineering Workbench
To access standards, user must create an account with University of Utah email, domains utah.edu or lists.utah.edu Campus access to the following standards: ASHRAE 90.1-2022 (I-P) and IEC 60601-1-2.
ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass contains, standards, journals, technical papers, manuals, and data series published by ASTM International. Additionally, all EN (European Norm) standards, most ISO (International Organization for Standardization) standards, and most IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) standards are available in ASTM Compass.
IEEE (Browse Standards)
This database provides full-text access to standards dating back to 1948 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE), and Society of Motion Pictures & Television Engineers (STPTE) standards .

FDA's Recognized Consensus Standards Database
This database consists of those national and international standards recognized by FDA which manufacturers can declare conformity to and is part of the information the Center can use to make an appropriate decision regarding the clearance or approval of a submission. Information submitted on conformance with such standards will have a direct bearing on safety and effectiveness determinations made during the review of IDEs, HDEs, PMAs, and PDPs. Conformance with recognized consensus standards in and of itself, however, may not always be a sufficient basis for regulatory decisions.

MAD CAD
MAD CAD is a reference database containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and industry guidelines. Various building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from NFPA are included in the collection. Results can be tailored to state and local areas. If we do not have the code you are looking for, please use Tech Street.

Find Articles and Major Indexes for Metallurgy here:

Scopus
Scopus is a large, abstract and citation database that is updated daily and offers access to 100+ million records including journal articles, conference papers, open access items, books, and book chapters. Scopus covers various subject disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Compendex Archive
Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines…
Arcive Only. Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Materials Science and Engineering Collection
This database covers metals and alloys, including details on their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. The collection contains almost 1.5 million references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. Major areas of coverage include steel, strength, refining, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, extracting, smelting, blast furnaces, machining, welding, testing, analysis…
This database covers metals and alloys, including details on their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. The collection contains almost 1.5 million references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. Major areas of coverage include steel, strength, refining, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, extracting, smelting, blast furnaces, machining, welding, testing, analysis, environmental issues, and safety issues. The database is updated once a month, with approximately 45,000 new records added per year. There are nearly 8 million records in the collection in total, drawn from over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current).
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.
SciFinder
NOTE: You must register for a user account to use this database - note that for registration you must use your University of Utah email.

This database is licensed for use only by U of U faculty, students and staff conducting scholarly research. It is not to be used for commercial research. SciFinder provides access to the substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Currently the database includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database. Please contact CAS at 1-800-753-4227 or Shane Wallace email shane.wallace@utah.edu with any questions regarding registration or access.
Inspec
Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 23 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly. Help
Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 23 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly, with approximately 600,000 new records added to the database annually.
Business Source Premier
Includes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses, and has metadata from 1606-current and full text from 1997-current, with select older titles.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.