Transcripts for many of these recordings can be found in Manuscripts.
This is a complete list of all the oral histories and interviews in the Audio-Visual Archive. It does not include collections comprised entirely of lectures or speeches.
Some oral histoires focus on particular ethnic groups, and some communities are represented by more than one collection. For oral histories arranged by ethnic group or Native American tribe click here.
A0001 Doris Duke American Indian Oral History Project
CDs of original interviews with Native Americans, mostly from the Western United States (1956-1972)
A0003 Sterling McMurrin
Interviews with McMurrin, University of Utah philosophy professor and United States Commissioner of Education under President Kennedy (1954-1970)
A0004 Greek Oral History
A0026 Fawn Brodie
Interviews about President Nixon, including one with newsman Dan Rather, conducted by Ogden born historian Fawn Brodie. This collection also includes a lecture on Nixon and an interview with Brodie about her book on Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS) leader Joseph Smith
A0032 Utah Scottish Association
KBYU radio interview about the Scottish Highland Games in Utah
A0037 J. Bracken Lee
Interviews with former Utah Governor and Salt Lake City mayor J. Bracken Lee as well as other audio-visual material of and about Lee.
A0038 African-American Oral Histories
A0039 Davis Bitton Oral Histories
A0046 Institute of the American West
Although this collection consists mostly of recordings of meetings and conferences sponsored by the Institute the collection also appears to contain some personal interviews.
A0060 Everett Cooley Oral History Project
Numerous recordings on various Utah related subjects
A0062 Ute Native American Interviews
A0066 Herbert B. Maw
Former Utah Governor Maw interviewed for A People's History of Utah (1982)
A0068 Uintah Basin Oral History Project
Interviews with residents of Vernal, UT (1976-1978)
A0070 LeGrand Richards
Interview with Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS) Apostle LeGrand Richards about the Church's revelation about African American males receiving the priesthood (1978)
A0079 Interviews with African American Utahns (1982-1983)
A0086 Interviews with Greek Utahns (1982-1983)
A0095 Golden Spike Oral History
Interviews documenting the history of the railroad and Golden Spike National Historic Site (1947-1974)
A0133 James S. Campbell
Interview with Campbell about his immigration to the United States from Scotland (1973)
A0137 Arthur Crawford
Discussion of turn of the century freight routes in Washington County, Utah
A0138 Voices of American Homemakers Oral History
A0140 Greek Archives
A0141 John H.S. Smith Oral Histories of Sanpete County, Utah
A0142 Utah Westerners
Interviews and historical society meeting presentations (1969-1973) as well as DVDs of summer field trips (1996-2010)
A0144 Harvey and Lorena Fletcher
Interviews and other material by or about Provo physicist and sound and hearing expert Harvey Fletcher
A0148 Alex McKenzie
Interviews with McKenzie and with turn of the century Utah journalist William Mudgett (1959)
A0149 Frederick S. Buchanan
Oral history interviews pertaining to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and to Scottish and Welsh immigrants to Utah (1973-1995). This collection also includes Buchanan's personal family films
A0150 Frank J. Cannon
Interview with Henry Wolfinger about his experiences working on a newspaper during the Great Depression with Frank J. Cannon, the first senator from the state of Utah
A0151 R.L. Reese
Interview with Reese about his work as an early labor union organizer for Amalgamated Meat Cutters (1971)
A0153 Hampton Godbe
Interviews geneologist Godbe conducted with his mother, Ruby Clawson Godbe, about her family and childhood (1963)
A0155 Q. Michael Croft Dissertation
Interviews with prominent Utah religious and political leaders conducted for Croft's dissertation. Interviewees include Governor J. Bracken Lee, Senator Wallace Bennett and other party leaders, public figures and political scholars and commentators (1980)
A0156 O.N. Malmquist
Interview with Malmquist conducted by Dr. Everett Cooley (1972)
A0181 Stanley Lyman
Interviews and oral histories from Bureau of Indian Affairs offical Lyman. This collection includes information on Native American issues such as the Wounded Knee takeover in 1973 (1972-1978)
A0197 Gregory Crampton
Interviews, meetings and other materials relating to the Museum of the American Indian.
A0200 T. Gerald Bleak Oral History (1976)
A0224 Jewish History
Material on Jews in Utah, including an interview with Nathen Ayeroff about the Jewish community in Clarion, Utah in 1912 (1984)
A0225 Clarice Short
Interview and poetry reading by author Clarice Short
A0227 Maurice Abravanel
Interviews, music and other material pertaining to the conductor
A0228 Conversations with the Maestro
Interviews with conductor Maurice Abravanel. These interviews are available for research purposes but may NOT be broadcast
A0231 Charles McGee
Oral history of McGee, a Hualapai Indian (1967)
A0232 N. Meelameggham (1979)
A0239 Mike Walton
Oral history of experiences on the Colorado River 1947-1980
A0240 Salamander
Interviews with and about historic and LDS document forger and murderer Mark Hofmann and his 1984 forgery of the "Salamander letter (1980-1988). This material was collected by Linda Sillitoe and Allen Roberts as background research for their book Salamander: The Story of the Mormon Forgery Murders (1988)
A0249 Agnes Just Reid
Interview with author Agnes Reid and a review of her 1923 book Letters of Long Ago about her mother's life on the Blackfoot River in Idaho in the 1870s-1880s
A0265 John S. Boyden
Interviews with Utah attorney and political activist John Boyden (1906-1980) and his wife, Orpha. The collection also includes a recording of Boyden's funeral.
A0277 Jennings J. Phillips
Interview with political journalist and public relations entrepreneur Phillips about his own life and the rise and fall of uranium prospector Charlie Steen (1976)
A0285 Jo-Anne Ely
Audio recordings about Duck Valley Indian Reservation
A0287 Japanese Oral History (1948-1988)
A0288 Ute Oral History (1985-1988)
A0289 Nutter-Price
Family oral histories
A0293 Robert Starr Waite
Radio interviews with geologist Waite and material about Great Basin National Park and Lehman Caves
A0294 James E. Petersen (1985)
A0295 Kent Walgren
Interviews with controversial Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS) historians including Lamar Petersen, James D. Wardle and Larry Lester
A0296 Nita Weber
Interviews conducted for Weber's thesis: A History of Health Care at the Navajo Lutheran Mission, Rock Point, Arizona 1953-1974
A0298 Louis C. Zucker
Interviews and a lecture about the Jewish community in Utah
A0305 Italian-American Oral Histories
A0309 Peter Goss
Interview with Goss, a University of Utah professor of architectural history
A0310 Louis Sanford Goodman
Interviews and audio recordings of personal correspondence from the pharmocologist and anticancer chemotherapy pioneer
A0311 Simon Ramo
Interviews and other material from the Salt Lake City born physicist, engineer and intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) developer
A0318 Lowell Lindsay Bennion
Interview with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS) scholar and humanitarian
A0324 Jewish Oral History
A0325 First Presbyterian Church
Interviews
A0326 Black American Oral History Project
A0327 Western Speech Communication Association
Oral history interviews from across the American West
A0339 Edna Clark Ericksen
Ericksen discusses her life, polygamy and 20th century Mormon family life
A0343 Uranium Oral History
A0346 Henry Plenk
Interviews wtih clinicians, scientists, teachers and researchers who were major figures in the history of medicine in Utah and the creation of the University of Utah School of Medicine. These interviews and related lectures and dictation provided the background research for Plenk's 1992 book Medicine in the Beehive State 1940-1990
A0351 Mike M. Masaoka
Interviews and other material relating to Masaoka's experience as a Japanese American soldier during WWII
A0357 Barbara J. Hamblin
Oral history and other material related to William Christensen
A0361 Bill Hosokawa
Interviews with Japanese Americans Masaoka Kido and Saburo Kido
A0363 Barney B. Clark Documentary
Interviews and other material for a KUED documentary on the implantation of the artificial heart in Dr. Barney Clark. Interviewees include physicians, researchers and Clark himself.
A0376 H. Michael Marquardt
Audio recordings on anti-Mormon topics, including some interviews
A0377 E. Richard Hart
Interviews and other materials about the history of the West and its Native Americans, including material about Zuni land claims
Transcripts for many of these recordings can be found in Manuscripts.
African American
A0038 African-American Oral Histories
A0079 Interviews with African American Utahns
A0326 Black American Oral History Project
Croatian
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1972-1975)
Greek
A0004 Greek Oral History
A0086 Interviews with Greek Utahns
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories(1969-1975)
Italian
A0305 Italian-American Oral Histories
Japanese
A0287 Japanese Oral History (1948-1988)
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1966-1997)
Jewish
A0224 Jewish History
A0918 Jewish Family Services
Mexican
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1970-1971)
Native American:
Acoma
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Apache
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Athapascan
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Bannock
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Cree
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Crow
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Gros Ventre
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Havasupai
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Hopi
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Hualapai
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Hupa
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Indian Self-Rule
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1983-1984)
Laguna
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Navajo
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Nevada Intertribal Council
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Paiute
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0497 Paiute Oral Histories
Pueblo
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Shoshoni
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Sioux
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0637 Wisdom of the Elders - South Dakota Oral History (1999)
Taos
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Tewa
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Tlingit
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
Tohono O'odham
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Urban Indian
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Ute
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0062 Ute Native American Interviews
A0288 Ute Oral History (1985-1988)
A0874 Native American Oral Histories
Zuni
A0001 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Project (1956-1972)
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1986 - Zuni Land Claims)
Spanish
A0853 Ethnic Archives Oral Histories (1968-1973)
Welcome to Special Collections!
We are located on the 4th Floor of J. Willard Marriott Library at the University of Utah.
Please feel free to come see us!
Our hours are:
M-F, 9am-6pm
Sat, 9:15am-6pm
It is often helpful to contact us in advance of your visit, so we have all of your materials ready. Call us at 801-581-8863
Most oral history collections have both an audio or video component AND a transcript (typed or written record) component. The audio and/or video materials are held by the Multimedia Archives and the transcripts are held by the Manuscripts department. Both components can be accessed by visiting the Special Collections reference desk on Level 4 of Marriott Library.
Interested in seeing the audio, video, or transcript of an oral history? It's easy!
Step by Step:
1. If there is a finding aid (detailed description of a collection) available online (look for hyperlinked titles of collections), review it carefully and find the interview(s) you are interested in looking at or listening to.
2. Call ahead to Manuscripts (801)585-3076 for the transcript or the Multimedia Archives (801)585-3073 for the audio/video and ask us to make the item available for you when you arrive OR just come visit us on the 4th floor with your information ready.
3. When you come visit us on Level 4, you will be asked to look at the items in our Reading Room. We will also ask you to leave personal items (aside from laptops) in the lockers outside of the Reading Room. We can make personal copies of the transcripts and/or audio/visual components upon request.
