Political Science & Public Administration: Find Articles

This listing provides access to all of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through EBSCOhost. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them. The number of databases listed here may change as the University adds or removes EBSCOhost content from our collections. For more information about the databases that EBSCOhost provides access to, open this list and then click on the 'More Information' button next to any of the individual databases.

This listing provides full-text access to all content that the library subscribes to through JSTOR. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher.

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. The database is updated daily and contains over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records, results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals, and links to other full-text articles and library resources.

This database is a bibliographic index of public policy, social policy, and social sciences literature. Materials indexed by the database include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and other forms of printed literature from around the world. Access also is available to the archive, which covers 1915-1976.

This database provides access to bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and policy. The database includes the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, originally published by IFI and ABC POL SCI, originally published by ABC-CLIO.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and a variety of other materials. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.

ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others.

This database provides access to tens of thousands of legislative histories covering laws from 1929 to the present. Thousands of these include new research. PDF documents included with the public laws include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record, and presidential signing statements.

The Government Periodicals Index provides indexing and links to full-text articles from over 300 periodicals published by agencies and departments of the United States federal government. Subjects covered by this database include diplomacy and foreign relations, health and public safety, military organizations, labor, law and justice, agriculture, education, census and demographics, public lands, game reserves, national parks, and more.

This database provides access to the United States Serial Set and the Serial Set Maps collection. The Serial Set is a collection of government publications (beginning with the American State Papers in 1789) which includes reports and documents produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials through 2003. It covers many aspects of American life, including agriculture, history, science, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. The collection also includes Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1979. The Serial Set Maps collection includes over 56,000 historical maps from the Serial Set, about half of which are high-resolution color scans. The collection features maps from the exploratory surveys of the 19th Century, battlefield maps, and maps depicting water resources, wilderness areas, and public works. Also included are Army Corps of Engineers and Geological Survey maps through the 1960s, as well as historic soil and population maps.

This database provides access to a collection of sociological and demographic data. The majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR provides access to restricted use versions that retain confidential data by imposing stringent requirements for accessing them. The datasets which are available to the University of Utah are included in this collection. Topics covered by this database include criminal justice, health and aging, substance abuse and mental health, child care, and health and medical care.

Hein’s premier online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Hein Online bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,500 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, Hein Online also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.

CRL, a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries, acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. This database contains approximately five million items, including a large circulating collection of newspapers, more than 38,000 foreign journals and 800,000 foreign dissertations, microfilm and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, Southeast Asia, and more. The University of Utah membership entitles our faculty and students to borrow any CRL material at no charge. Patrons can search for items or collections on the CRL website and then request them via ILL.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective covers a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences with indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews. Topics covered include communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies, and more.

This database is composed of survey data from the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) on democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean). Survey results are incorporated into the database as they become available (surveys are conducted every two years), and the collection currently includes the results of over 80,000 interviews in over 25 countries.

OpinionArchives provides access to the full text of several periodicals which feature commentaries and opinion pieces on topics related to politics, culture, and the arts. Titles indexed by the database include American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Harpers Magazine, NACLA, The Nation, The National Review, The New Republic, and New York Review of Books, among others.

Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of over 600,000 questions and responses, from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and over 100 other countries around the world.

This listing provides access to most of the databases that the University of Utah subscribes to through ProQuest. Many are also listed elsewhere on our list of databases, but this serves as a common access point to all of them.