How to Get Permission to Show a Movie Outside Class
This guide aims to give information about showing movies outside of class.
Copyright Librarian
Allyson Mower, MA, MLIS
she/her/hers
Contact:
University of Utah, Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East, Room 5150E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
295 South 1500 East, Room 5150E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 585-5458
Website
This guide provides information on how to obtain permission to show movies outside of class time. For information on showing movies in the classroom, please see our Copyright Overview Page. This guide is informed by U of U Policy 7-014. If you are not affiliated with the University of Utah, please check your own institution’s policy for more local information.
Permission Through the Library
Films the library has already paid permission for U of U to show on campus outside of class. Note that you cannot charge admission when screening any film below.
- Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowThe Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 1,300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, and EuroArts, among others, and is continuously updated.
- Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new windowThis database provides cross-searchable access to all of the video databases that the Marriott Library subscribes to through Alexander Street Press. Content and coverage of this database will change as the databases it contains are updated, removed, or added to. More details about the collections that can be searched through this listing are provided on this database's search page.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a large collection of educational films which can be streamed online. Some of the publishers whose films appear in this database are ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, among others. Films may be viewed individually or used by faculty as instructional material for courses.
- Medici.TV This link opens in a new windowNote: Public Performance Rights are conditional title by title. If you want to show one of these videos, please email Mary Ann James at maryann.james@utah.edu.
Medici.tv is an online catalog made up of over 1,200 classical music programs from a variety of artists and composers. The database also partners with orchestras and concert halls around the world in order to broadcast live musical events. - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy contains films of all genres, from classic films, to documentaries, to obscure cult favorites.
Note that not all titles are available to view.
Ways of Getting Permission
Possible vendors to contact for permission to show a movie outside of class. You can also seek out the filmmaker directly to ask permission. Contact information is sometimes listed in the copyright registration record available from the U.S. Copyright Office’s online catalog.
- Criterion Pictures USACriterion Pictures is one of the largest non-theatrical providers of feature films in North America. Criterion Pictures licenses feature films for Colleges, Universities, Correctional Facilities, Healthcare Organizations, Bus Lines, as well as Public and Private Schools, Museums, Performing Art Centers, Religious Organizations, Resorts, Camps, and Park and Recreation. Criterion offers its customers customizable programming options and supplies its product on all available mediums.
- Motion Picture Licensing CorporationMPLC provides the Umbrella License, which grants organizations permission to show legally obtained audiovisual programs without the need to report titles, dates or times of exhibition.
- Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.Swank Motion Pictures, Inc., founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.
- A24 FilmsA24 licenses their content directly and are always looking to build relationships with colleges and universities. They can be reached at bookings@a24films.com for any opportunities.
