alert icon

Library Covid-19 Updates

Moderate Risk
University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.

Get Personalized Reading Recommendations (Books AND Scholarly Journals): What Books to Read Next

From an experienced librarian who reads everything from policies & journal articles to speculative fiction.

What Books to Read Next

Some recent good books

Dear Girls

Solid life advice with a serious amount of humor!!

The Librarian of Auschwitz

A young, courageous, dedicated librarian offers her fellow trapped detainees a little bit of hope embodied in the small collection of eight books.

The Nickel Boys

A tragic story about a young African American man whose life gets upended when he accepts a ride from a stranger on his way to fulfill his college dreams.

Bad Blood

Medical myth-making conducted at the risk of patients and their health–this book shows how easy it was for a ruthless company founder to falsify, lie, and cover-up in the high-stakes world of tech start-up and how difficult it was to counter such dishonesty.

Talking to Strangers

This book gives interesting insight into deceit, snap judgements, and trustworthiness — but read it in small doses otherwise it is mind-numbing (even obnoxious at times).

Sapiens

Inspired by Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, this book takes you on the journey of human history, its epochs, and ends with a very interesting take on the future of humanity.

Reading Recommendations from a Librarian

Allyson Mower's picture
Allyson Mower
Office hour via U of U Zoom: M-F 3 to 4 pm; or by appointment
https://lms-utah.zoom.us/j/93099243023
Contact:
University of Utah, Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East, Room 5103
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 585-5458
Website

What Scholarly Articles/Journals to Read Next

Journal Citation Reports: Science and Social Sciences

This database contains both the Science and Social Sciences Editions of Journal Citation reports, which collectively cover about 5,000 international science journals and about 1,600 international social sciences journals from the ISI database. Both are able to show analytical data about journals like highest impact, most frequent use, largest journals, etc.

American Physical Society (APS) Journals

This database provides access to journals published by the American Physical Society, primarily the Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and the Physical Review series. The Physical Review Letters (PRL) provide readers with weekly coverage of major advances in physics and cross disciplinary developments. PRL's topical sections are devoted to general physics (including statistical and quantum mechanics, quantum information, etc.), gravitation a…

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals

This database provides full-text access to the journals, magazines, and proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Users can export citation pages in Endnote, BibTeX, and ACM Ref formats and access an author database which includes bibliometrics of many authors in the field.

Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals

This listing provides access to all of the journal content the Marriott Library subscribes to through the Institute of Physics (IOP). Many details such as subject coverage, coverage dates, and update frequency vary by title, but are provided where applicable.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals

The ACS Journal Archives provide searchable full-text access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 450,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. ACS publishes more than 35 peer-reviewed journals with articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology, biotechnology, applied microbiology, chemical engineering, c…

Royal Society of Chemistry eJournals

This listing provides access to all of the full-text journals the library subscribes to through the Royal Society of Chemistry. A number of subjects are covered by the collection, including biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. New content is added as it becomes available.

Sage Premier Journals

This listing provides access to the journals which the Marriott Library subscribes to via SAGE Publications. Over 645 titles from more than 245 scholarly and professional societies are included. Subjects covered by these journals include business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, medicine, and more. Coverage varies by title, and the collection is updated regularly with new or changing content.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library