Mechanical Engineering: Web Resources

Web Resources

Mechanical Engineering Web Links
       Reference Sources, Search Engines & Gateways
       Journals, Magazines & Newsletters
       Scholarly Societies & Trade Associations
       Educational Resources
       Ethics
       Jobs
       Selected Web Resources

Reference Sources, Search Engines & Gateways

Knovel Engineering Handbooks   This resource is available to University of Utah users only
  Search for properties or short overview articles from over 450 Handbooks & Instructional Books in Engineering
      Search All Knovel Books for Properties/Data

NIST Web Search Engine -http://www.boulder.nist.gov/ - (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
Lots of property data is published by the US government and is available on the web. Use this site to search all NIST websites. Use the phrase "property data" and then the type of data your looking for. Results can be very specific, but once you've identified a site useful to you . . .

NIST Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory - http://www.nist.gov/mel/
National Institute of Standards and Technology. Developing many of the underpinning components of automated intelligent-processing systems that soon will be the core of all world-class manufacturing operations. These include intelligent machines; advanced sensors for real-time in-process measurements; software for precision control of machine tools; and information technology for integrating all elements of a product's life cycle.

WW Virtual Library -Systems and Control Engineering -  http://www-control.eng.cam.ac.uk/extras/Virtual_Library/Control_VL.html

WWW Virtual Library- Engineering - http://vlib.org/Engineering.html
Investigate all of the engineering disciplines listed in this excellent online library.

WWW Virtual Library- All Disciplines - http://vlib.org/
Investigate the full breadth of disciplines in this online library. 

Other Reference Sources:      

Mechanical Enigneering  - Academic Departments - from Google http://directory.google.com/Top/Science/Technology/Mechanical_Engineering/Academic_Departments/
Web sites of Mechanical Engineering departments at other universities offer a variety of resources, most important among these are lists of preferred web resources (links) as well as in-depth information on research conducted at other universities.

Allexperts.com: Mechanical Engineering - http://www.allexperts.com/getExpert.asp?Category=667
Volunteer experts answer your questions about mechanical engineering. A free public service.

Best Manufacturing Practices - http://www.bmpcoe.org/
Information on "Best Manufacturing Practices" identified in industry, government, and academia through a survey and benchmarking process.

CAD on the Web - http://www.cadontheweb.com/
Database of CAD/CAM/CAE resources on the Internet.

Chemical Propulsion Information Agency - http://www.jhu.edu/~cpia/
Technical resources, including database of propulsion papers.

Compressible Aerodynamics Calculator - http://www.aoe.vt.edu/aoe3114/calc.html
Computes the standard relations for compressible flow of a perfect gas. The calculator is intended to provide a faster more convenient alternative to printed tables and charts (e.g. NACA Report 1135). Three sets of relations are included: Isentropic Flow Relations, Normal Shock Relations, Oblique Shock relations.

DataGalaxy.com - http://www.datagalaxy.com/
Subscription service to access specifications, standards, and product information.

Design for Environment (DFE) - http://www.epa.gov/dfe/
Links to hazardous and alternative materials information.

Eng-Tips - http://www.eng-tips.com/gthreadminder.cfm/lev2/16/lev3/58/pid/404/
Mechanical Engineers' technical support forums and mutual help system for engineering professionals. Selling and recruiting forbidden.

EngineeringPages.com - http://www.engineeringpage.com/
Links to product vendors, literature, software, standards, patent databases, and jobs.

Engineering Toolbox - http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/
Covers many engineering disciplines. Tutorials, design, materials properties information and more.

EPO - European Patent Office - http://ep.espacenet.com/

iCrank.com - http://icrank.com/cgi-bin/pageman/pageout.cgi?path=/knowledge_bank.htm&t=3
Provides index to design resources, reference data, vendors, seminars, trade shows, employment information, and more.

Library of Congress, Selected Internet Resources - Engineering - http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/selected-internet/engineering.html
Links to many sites related to engineering, including specialized government sites, national laboratories, societies, etc.

MatWeb - http://www.matweb.com/
MatWeb's database of materials properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, and polyolefins; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus a growing list of semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Mechanical Engineering Resources on the WWW - http://www.gearhob.com/
Associations, CAD,CAM,CAE, components, design, finite element, machine shop, materials, publications, safety, semiconductors, links.

MechEngineer.com - http://www.mechengineer.com/
Portal type site. Has links, email, job postings, and news.

MEMS Clearinghouse - http://mems.isi.edu
Information about MEMS and the MEMS community.

Modern Aviation Museum - http://www.aerospaceweb.org/aircraft/
Pictures, background information, and technical specifications for military and civil aircraft.

Nanometer-Scale Metrology (NIST) - http://www.mel.nist.gov/div821/webdocs-14/821-14.htm
National Institute of Standards and Technology - research projects and measurement services in nanometer scale metrology. ITSC Fluids Movie.

Resources for Mechanical Design/Engineering - http://www.rxn.com/~demu001/mech_des.html
Links to design related sites.

Robotics and Automation Related Sites - http://www.ncsu.edu/IEEE-RAS/RAS/RASsite.html
A clearinghouse for information about every aspect of Robotics and Automation. Worldwide sites are arranged by country with links to professional societies and publications.

Robotics Related Services on the Internet - http://www.ifi.unizh.ch/groups/ailab/links/robotic.html

Steven Henderson's Design Links -http://www.shender4.com/eng-links.htm
Resources for design engineers and a Java units conversion calculator.

ThomasRegister.com - http://www.thomasnet.com/
Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America where you can View thousands of online company catalogs and websites,View and download millions of Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawings, and submit RFQs for open bids.

U.S. Department of Commerce - MicroElectroMechanical Systems Project - http://mems.nist.gov/
Seeks to stimulate economic growth through technology, measurements, and standards.

USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office -http://www.uspto.gov/
Search US Patent Grants back to 1790 (full-text since 1976, full-page images since 1790) as well as trademarks. A great deal of engineering information is available through patents.

Web Directory: Fluid Dynamics Links - http://www.efluids.com/
Detailed links to periodicals, data sources, organizations, indices, projects and more.

yourDictionary.com - http://www.yourdictionary.com/
A meta engine for searching over 800 dictionaries in 160 different languages. Look up the deffinitions of physical properties, laws, and other technical terms.

Journals, Magazines, & Newsletters

The EEVL List of Free Online E-journals - http://www.eevl.ac.uk/eese/maglist.html
While many of these publications are not shcolarly, this is a very good pointer to many freely available online publications in, or related to , engineering topics.

(The) Engineer - http://www.theengineer.co.uk/
Online version of the UK weekly newspaper for engineers in the manufacturing industry. Web site includes the latest issue plus archives of previous issues, job listings, and an events calendar.

Machine Design Online - http://machinedesign.com/
Online version of popular trade publication.

Mechanical Engineering Magazine Online - http://www.memagazine.org/
Selected feature stories from the print version, weekly updated late-breaking technical and industry-related business news, forums for lively discussions etc.

NDTnet - http://www.ndt.net/
Online Journal of Nondestructive Testing and Ultrasonics.

Scholarly Societies & Trade Associations

AIAA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics - http://www.aiaa.org/
ASME : American Society of Mechanical Engineers - http://www.asme.org/
ASHRAE : American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers - http://www.ashrae.org
HEI : Heat Exchange Institute - http://www.heatexchange.org/home.htm
IME : Institution of Mechanical Engineers (British)- http://www.imeche.org/
Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers - http://www.stle.org/
Society for Experimental Mechanics, Inc. - http://www.sem.org/

Educational Resources

Google's Mechanical Enigneering Academic Departments - http://directory.google.com/Top/Science/Technology/Mechanical_Engineering/Academic_Departments/
Web sites of Mechanical Engineering departments at other universities offer a variety of resources, most important among these are lists of preferred web resources (links) as well as in-depth information on research conducted at other universities.

A Brief Overview of Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) - http://www.cfd-online.com/Links/onlinedocs.html
From Indiana University Computer Sciences Dept.

Aerospace Digital Library - http://www.adl.gatech.edu
Guided access to aerospace engineering, at all levels. K-12 introductions, university undergrad and graduate courses, publications, data, research and software. Developed by teachers and researchers.

Aerospace Online - http://www.aerospaceonline.com/
Daily news and product updates for professionals in the aerospace industry- Information on manufacturing, technology, equipment, supplies, and discussion forums, online chat, newsletter and software.

Aerospace Online: Download Library Center - http://www.aerospaceonline.com/downloads/

Bad Human Factors Designs - http://BadDesigns.com/
Learn from other peoples' mistakes! Useability design is the focus.

Beginner's Guide to Propulsion - http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/K-12/airplane/bgp.html
Tutorial slides on basic propulsion concepts.

Best Manufacturing Practices - http://www.bmpcoe.org/
Information on "Best Manufacturing Practices" identified in industry, government, and academia through a survey and benchmarking process.

Bolted Joints Tutorial - http://www.boltscience.com/pages/basics1.htm
Provides solutions to problems relating bolted joints and to threaded fasteners in general.

Center For Applied Microtechnology - http://www.ee.washington.edu/research/microtech/cam
Provides education for, research, and promotion of microtechnology.

CGDM - http://cgdm.berkeley.edu/
An interdisciplinary research initiative and an industry/government/university partnership to develop linkages between manufacturing and design and their environmental effects and to integrate engineering information, management practices and government policy-making.

Chemical Propulsion Information Agency - http://www.jhu.edu/~cpia/
Technical resources, including database of propulsion papers.

COG project - http://www.ai.mit.edu/projects/humanoid-robotics-group/
A humanoid robot in development.

Colorful Fluid Mixing Gallery - http://www.bakker.org/
Computational fluid dynamics simulations of fluid mixing in the process industries.

Heat Exchange Institute - http://www.heatexchange.org/
Committed to the technical advancement, promotion, and understanding of a broad range of utility and industrial-scale heat exchange and vacuum apparatus.

Hydraulic Systems Troubleshooting - http://www.hydraulicsupermarket.com/technical.html
Includes Brief tutorials regarding Industrial Hydraulics.

Los Alamos National Laboratory - http://www.lanl.gov/
Scientific Computing Group at Los Alamos presents information about its major areas of activity: . Advanced Computing; Methods for Advanced Scientific Simulations; Modeling, Algorithms, & Informatics; Transport Methods.

Mechanical Shocks and Vibrations - http://llalanne.free.fr
Description of the main methods of analysis and laboratory simulation of mechanical environments. Book ordering function broken.

MEMS Clearinghouse - http://mems.isi.edu/
Discussion groups, job listings, industry news, and their important material(s) database.

National Center for Supercomputing Applications - http://www.ncsa.illinois.edu/
The Computational Fluid Dynamics Group at NCSA focuses on research in the area of Direct and Large Eddy Simulations of complex turbulent flows. Research into turbulent flows, development of numerical methods and their implementation and performance on parallel architectures are some ongoing research efforts.

Neurobotics Lab - http://neurobotics.cs.washington.edu/
Applying neural networks and other biomimetic techniques to the control of mobile robots.

PipingDesign.com - http://www.pipingdesign.com/
Web-Based Resource for Process Piping Professionals.

Prof. McCarthy - http://www.eng.uci.edu/~mccarthy/
Includes text of "Design of spatial linkages and robotic systems".

Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory - http://www.wpafb.af.mil/afrl/rz/
Info on their research projects, and a propulsion primer.

Reliability Engineering Snapshot - http://www.resnapshot.com
A monthly illustrated collection of actual failure analysis case studies in the fields of corrosion, lubrication, machine design, material properties, people, and vibration.

RoboCup Official Site - http://www.robocup.org/
The Robot World Cup Initiative (RoboCup) is an attempt to foster AI and intelligent robotics research by providing a standard problem where wide range of technologies can be integrated and examined.

Robohoo! - http://www.robohoo.com
The World's Largest Index of Robotics Resources.

von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics - http://www.vki.ac.be/
Non-profit international educational and scientific organisation, located in Belgium hosting three departments (aeronautics and aerospace, environmental and applied fluid dynamics, and turbomachinery). It provides post-graduate education in fluid dynamics and encourages "training in research through research" . Created in 1956 following Theodore von Kármán's proposal, it is currently supported with subsidies from most of the member countries of NATO and with an income derived from contract research.

Ethics

Onlineethics.org - The Online Ethics Center for Engineering & Science- http://onlineethics.org/
National Institute for Engineering Ethics Online - http://www.niee.org/
     Applied Ethics in Professional Practice - Case of the Month - http://www.niee.org/Case-of-the-Month/
National Society of Professional Engineers - NSPE Ethics Reference Guide - http://www.nspe.org/resources/pdfs/Ethics/EthicsReferenceGuide.pdf
     NSPE Code of Ethics, Case studis, Consolidated Table of Contents to the Opinions of the Board of Ethical Review,
      Subject Reference Guide to NSPE Code of Ethics.
The Ethics Center - http://www.ethics.org/
Ethics in Computing - http://ethics.csc.ncsu.edu/
Software Engineering Ethics Research Institute - http://seeri.etsu.edu/default.htm

Jobs       (links below are to sites with jobs specifically for Mechanical Engineering majors)

CFD Online - http://www.cfd-online.com/
An online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics. Services include a comprehensive link section, a jobs database and a discussion forum.

The Engineer - http://www.theengineer.co.uk/
Online version of the UK weekly newspaper for engineers in the manufacturing industry. Web site includes the latest issue plus archives of previous issues, job listings, and an events calendar.

EngineeringCentral.com - http://engineeringcentral.com/
Engineering jobs and career guidance.

MechanicalEngineer.com - http://www.mechanicalengineer.com/
Job listings for mechanical engineers and related jobs. Also a forum for open discussions, and a list of recommended books on the field.  

MechEngineer.com - http://www.mechengineer.com/
Portal type site. Has links, email, job postings, and news.

MEMS Clearinghouse - http://mems.isi.edu/
Discussion groups, job listings, industry news, and their important material(s) database.

Selected Web Resources

Airfoil Analysis Software for the PC - http://www.hanleyinnovations.com
Software for airfoil anlaysis and informative aerodynamics articles.

Basics of Design Engineering (CAE Overview) - http://machinedesign.com/channel/basics-of-design-engineering
High-level overview of CAE technology for mechanical design, with a brief section on Design Analysis methods. Excerpts from Machine Design magazine.

Bolted Joints Tutorial - http://www.boltscience.com/pages/basics1.htm
Provides solutions to problems relating bolted joints and to threaded fasteners in general.

Center For Applied Microtechnology - http://www.ee.washington.edu/research/microtech/cam/
Provides education for, research, and promotion of microtechnology.

CFD Online - http://www.cfd-online.com/
An online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics. Services include a comprehensive link section, a jobs database and a discussion forum.

Colorful Fluid Mixing Gallery - http://www.bakker.org/
Computational fluid dynamics simulations of fluid mixing in the process industries.

Computational Fluid Dynamics Literature - http://www.cfd-online.com/Books/
Comprehensive list of computational fluid dynamics literature. Includes books on many topics including turbulence, heat transfer, grids, numerical methods and special topics.

Computational Structural Mechanics at NCSA - http://csm.ncsa.illinois.edu/
Resources for CSM professionals from Computational Structural Mechanics, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois.

Cornell Nanofabrication Facility (CNF) -http://www.cnf.cornell.edu/

DARPA MEMS Program - http://www.darpa.mil/MTO/programs/mems/index.html
Overview of government program and MEMS technology in general.

EEVL Top 100 Engineering Sites - http://www.eevl.ac.uk/top-100.htm
This top 100 list is taken from their catalog of the best engineering web sites. A very good collection of worthwhile web sites.

Finite Element Method Universal Resource - http://www.steelynx.net/fea.html
Introduction to FEM, general FEM resources and educational information.

Finite Element People - http://www-math.cudenver.edu/~lfranca/links/fem_people.html
List of researchers and scientists that work in using, developing, improving and analyzing finite element methods in various applications.

Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Technology - http://www.iwu.fhg.de/english/index.htm
Investigations of the entire process chain of forming technology from the plants and processes of tool and die making over the area of forming procedure to the used machine techniques. Important fields of activity are machine and process control as well as valuation of properties of machines and products. The recent field of activity is micro-production engineering.

iCrank.com - http://www.icrank.com
Mechanical Engineering portal site. Includes vendor and newsgroup directories, reference data, a product development forum, technical information and links to mechanical engineering resources.

IMS: Intelligent Manufacturing Systems - http://www.ims.org/
Official information on the international intelligent manufacturing systems rsearch program.

Intelligent Micromachine Initiative - http://mems.sandia.gov/
MEMS research and development at Sandia National Laboratories.

IntelliSense - http://intellisensesoftware.com/
Provides total MEMS solutions from CAD tools for MEMS to product development and manufacturing.

Internet Finite Element Resources - http://homepage.usask.ca/~ijm451/finite/fe_resources/
List of FEA resources including public domain and shareware programs, commercial packages, useful URL's, ftp sites, newsgroups, listservers, bulletin boards and books which contain source code.

Johns Hopkins University- Center for Nondestructive Evaluation - http://www.ndt.org/
Center for Nondestructive Evaluation.

MechanicalEngineer.com - http://www.mechanicalengineer.com/
Job listings for mechanical engineers and related jobs. Also a forum for open discussions, and a list of recommended books on the field.  

MEMS Clearinghouse - http://mems.isi.edu
Information about MEMS and the MEMS community.

(The) MEMS Exchange - http://www.mems-exchange.org
A distributed MEMS fabrication environment providing access to MEMS manufacturing technologies.

MEMS web - University of Colorado at Boulder - http://trimmer.net/
Research in RF MEMS, optoelectronic MEMS, and MEMS reliability. NSF Center for advanced manufacturing and packaging of microwave, optical, and digital electronics.

Modern Aviation Museum - http://www.aerospaceweb.org/aircraft/
Pictures, background information, and technical specifications for military and civil aircraft.

Neurobotics Lab - http://neurobotics.cs.washington.edu/
Applying neural networks and other biomimetic techniques to the control of mobile robots.

PipingDesign.com - http://www.pipingdesign.com
Web-Based Resource for Process Piping Professionals.

Pro/ENGINEER - http://www.ptc.com/products/proe/
3D Mechanical design software.

Prof. McCarthy - http://www.eng.uci.edu/~mccarthy/
Includes text of "Design of spatial linkages and robotic systems".

Safety & Reliability Web Sites - http://www.riskworld.com/websites/webfiles/ws00a001.htm
North Texas System Safety Society Safety & Reliability Web Sites.

Tribologist.com - http://www.tribologist.com                                                                                                                                                     Provides a gas phase lubrication whitepaper and contact calculators.

Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics - http://www.vki.ac.be/
Non-profit international educational and scientific organisation, located in Belgium hosting three departments (aeronautics and aerospace, environmental and applied fluid dynamics, and turbomachinery). It provides post-graduate education in fluid dynamics and encourages "training in research through research" . Created in 1956 following Theodore von Kármán's proposal, it is currently supported with subsidies from most of the member countries of NATO and with an income derived from contract research.

Suggest a Web Link

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library