Parks, Recreation & Tourism: Find Articles

Find Articles

Use these resources to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources.

BIOSIS Previews From Thompson Scientific (1969-current)
Online version of BIOSIS Previews® is the online version of Biological Abstracts® and Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings. " ... provides informative abstracts, in English, of current research reported in the biological and medical literature; approximately 9,000 life sciences research journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion." No full text.

Business Source Premier (1922-current)
A "collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications" in all areas of business management, accounting, marketing, and sales.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest Direct)
ProQuest Digital Dissertations provides full text access to virtually all North American Universities Dissertations published from 1997 and forward, and citations only to dissertations before that date.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966-current)
Covers the discipline of education. Excellent starting point for physical educators.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (1960-current)
Limiting a search by "Primary Source" is the most efficient way to search for the the instrument itself. The "Secondary Source" limit indicates that the instrument was not developed by the author(s) of the cited article.

Hein Online
Use for Dr. Wells' PRT 3520 class

Provides excellent overview of the largest public and private companies including detailed financial data as well overview of major industries.
  Covers sports, recreation, entertainment, and hospitality industries.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Use for Dr. Wells' PRT 3520 class.

Provides the full-text of dissertations and theses related to health and performance that were originally available in microfilm format  at the Marriott Library.

Physical Education Index (CSA) (1970--current)
Covers all aspects of physical education including major coverage in sports medicine, coaching, and kinesiology. Indexes over 300 journals.

ProQuest Newstand
Provides the full-text of over 300 newspapers including Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal.

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) (1887-current).
Covers psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, physiology, psychiatry, nursing, and pharmacology. It includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations. Indexes approximately 1,500 journals in 25 different languages. PsycINFO (Ebsco) contains some (very little, presently) full text.

Provides market research and industry news "covering all facets of the industry…sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing." Information from the "Consolidated Market Research" area comes from the National Sporting Goods Association.

Sociological Abstracts (CSA) (1963-current)
Covers sociology and related disciplines.

SPORTDiscus Full Text (EBSCOhost) (1830-current)
Covers all aspects of sports, exercise, and fitness. 

USDA Forest Service
Provide three different databases for researchers:
** USDA Forest Service Tree Search
     Searches online publications of the Forest Service.
** FS Info
     Database of print and online resources on all aspects of forestry, wildlife management, and forest recreation.
** Forest Inventory and Analysis National Program

Web of Science  (1900-current)


Librarian Contact Info

Alfred Mowdood's picture
Alfred Mowdood
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
(801) 585-7125

Pronouns: he, him, his
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library