Rock Climbing
Overview of our climbing and mountaineering collections
Welcome
Welcome to the Marriott Library's rock climbing website. This website features some of our rock climbing and mountaineering materials.
To find other materials, search the U Libraries catalog (USearch) or browse the stacks on Level 2 in GV199-GV200.
To find descriptions of our Special Collections, search for our finding aids in Archives West or view this page.
Who can borrow?
Even if you're not a University of Utah student, staff, faculty, emeriti, or retiree, you may be able to borrow materials from the Marriott Library!
As of November 2023, the following people can apply for a free permit:
- State of Utah residents 18 years and older with current government-issued Photo ID
- Faculty, staff and students of UALC, GWLA, or PAC-12 member institutions with proof of current affiliation
- University of Utah Alumni
- Utah International Baccalaureate (IB) high school students with a letter of introduction from an IB program Coordinator.
- Spouses and domestic partners of current University of Utah faculty or staff members.
- Continuing Education / Lifelong Learning students
Please note that some materials are limited to UofU students and employees. This website provides more detailed information about borrowing.
Get involved
Get involved at the University of Utah, locally, and nationally with these or other outdoor recreation groups.
At the U:
- U-EXPLOREClasses take place in varied outdoor settings with opportunities to explore, learn, and develop lifelong skills while earning valuable credit toward graduation. Regardless of your major, these courses typically feature interdisciplinary benefits beyond those possible in traditional classroom settings.
- University of Utah Climbing TeamWe are a group of climbers training to compete in USA Climbing’s Collegiate Climbing Series (CCS). This group is for those individuals who enjoy climbing and are looking to take a step into the world of competition or further their climbing abilities. As a team, we hold structured training sessions to prepare climbers for CCS local, regional and national events. This group also provides an opportunity to network with fellow climbers in the Salt Lake area.
Utah Climbing Access, Community, & Stewardship Organizations:
- Color the WasatchColor the Wasatch is focused on building a community for climbers of color in Salt Lake City and along the Wasatch Front. Our goals are to empower POC climbers, highlight the achievements of such climbers, and to make climbing a more diverse and inclusive sport. We work closely with local gyms and outdoor brands including the Front, the Salt Lake Bouldering Project, Black Diamond, and Gnarly Nutrition. We hold regular events and climbing nights. We also run joint climbing nights with SLAQC.
- Salt Lake Area Queer Climbers (SLAQC)SLAQC creates a supportive space for all queer people to enjoy climbing. We host weekly meetups, raise visibility by collaborating with brands who share our mission, advocate for increased access to climbing with gym partners, and promote queer stories and organizations. Through these efforts, we empower queer individuals, create a more inclusive climbing community, reduce barriers to access, and cultivate collective knowledge.
- Salt Lake Climbers AllianceThe Mission of the Salt Lake Climbers Alliance is to serve as the unified voice of all climbers in the greater Wasatch region, engaging as an advocate to protect outdoor climbing access and as a steward to maintain sustainable climbing resources in the Wasatch and surrounding regions.
- Friends of Indian CreekThe Friends of Indian Creek works with land managers to promote responsible climbing, but also provides resources that help alleviate recreation’s impact on the region.
- Northern Utah Climbers CoalitionThe Northern Utah Climbers' Coalition is an advocacy group committed to creating and maintaining sustainable and responsible climbing opportunities in and around Logan Canyon.
- Southern Utah Climbers' AllianceThe mission of the Southern Utah Climbers Alliance is to be a unified voice to work proactively with local and Federal land managers to ensure access, preserve sensitive terrain, and replace aging safety hardware in the Southwestern Utah, Northwestern Arizona, and Southeastern Nevada region.
National groups:
- Access FundAt Access Fund, we are on a mission to protect climbing access and the integrity of America’s outdoor climbing areas. Today, 1 in 5 climbing areas in the United States is threatened by an access issue—whether it's private land lost to development, public land managers over-regulating climbing, or climber impacts degrading the environment, the list of threats is long and constantly evolving.
- The American Alpine ClubOur vision is a united community of competent climbers and healthy climbing landscapes.
Local Gyms:
Within less than 1 hour drive of campus.
- The Front Climbing ClubSalt Lake City (SLC & South Main). Ogden.
- Momentum Indoor ClimbingMillcreek. Sandy. Lehi.
- Salt Lake Bouldering ProjectSalt Lake City.
- Westminister College Climbing WallSalt Lake City.
- West Valley City Family Fitness CenterWest Valley City.
- Taylorsville Recreation CenterTaylorsville
- iRock UtahOgden.
- Provo Recreation CenterProvo. (Deep water soloing wall.)
- The Fit ShopHeber City.
- The Scratch PadNew dry tooling gym! Orem
Other Outdoor Recreation Library Guides
Ascent Archive Podcast of Oral Histories with Rock Climbers and Mountaineers
Listen to rock climbers' oral histories from our collections on the Ascent Archive Podcast!
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
Tallie Casucci
Tallie Casucci
she/her
Subjects: Athletics, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Ethics, Engineering, Entertainment Arts & Engineering, Exercise & Sports Science, Health Kinesiology & Recreation, Health Promotion & Education, Intellectual Property, Kinesiology, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Patents & Trademarks, Statistics
Alfred Mowdood
Alfred Mowdood
he/him/his
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125
Pronouns: he/him/his
Subjects: Accounting, Athletics, Biomedical Ethics, Business, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Exercise & Sports Science, Grants, Health Communication, Health Kinesiology & Recreation, Health Promotion & Education, Industry, Information Systems, Intellectual Property, Kinesiology, LEAP, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems, Parks Recreation & Tourism, Patents & Trademarks, Science, Test Preparation, Theses and Dissertations
Acknowledgements
Special thanks to Special Collections and the Utah Ski Archive for making these climbing and mountaineering collections possible.
