Rock Climbing
Graphic Novels
Below are some featured climbing and mountaineering graphic novels. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
Ailefroide : altitude 3 954 by Call Number: Level 2: General Collection GV199.92.R635 A3 2019De Grenoble à la Bérarde en mobylette. Des rappels tirés sur la façade du Lycée Champollion. Avec l'exaltation pure qui tape aux tempes, quand on bivouaque suspendu sous le ciel criblé d'étoiles, où qu'à seize ans à peine on se lance dans des grandes voies. La Dibona, le pilier Frendo, le Coup de Sabre, la Pierre Alain à la Meije, la Rébuffat au Pavé : le Massif des Ecrins tout entier offert comme une terre d'aventure, un royaume, un champ de bataille parfois. Car la montagne réclame aussi son dû et la mort rôde dans les couloirs glacés. -- 4ème de couverture.
Climbing Tales of Terror by Call Number: PN6727.K64 C57 1990Publication Date: 1990Relax into yer fav'rit easy chair with yer fab snack and "HOT" new book and howl about lycra-clad buffoons, guffaw over bolt-slammin' geeks, split a gut at Avalanche Poodles, collapse on the floor in a weepin' heap of laughter cuz of Climbing Tales of Terror.
Close Calls by Call Number: GV200.2 .L64 1999Publication Date: 1999Collection of near-death climbing experiences. Illustrated by Tami Knight.
Everest: The ultimate Hump by Call Number: NC1429.K586 A4 1999Publication Date: 1999The satiric and irreverent humor of Tami Knight, hurled at the mother of all mountains.
L'invention du vide by Call Number: Level 2: Oversize Collection GV199.92.M86 D42 2016A graphic novel recounting the first ascent of l'Aiguille du Grépon, 5 Aug 1881, achieved by Albert Frederick Mummery, Alexander Burgener and Benedikt Venetz.
In French; some dialogue in German and English.
Tami Knight Returns by Publication Date: 1993A humorous look at climbing. Old and new fans will welcome some great new material. No one who hits the crags is safe. Tami's barbs afflict all climbers, including those who just enjoy wearing lycra. (8 1/2 x 11, 24 pages, illustrated)
Teetering on the brink of climbing : the ugliest stuff yet by Call Number: PN6727.K64 T33 1996Publication Date: 1996
Vicious lies an' heinous slander. Volume 2 : cartoonz fer climbrz by Call Number: Special Collections NC1429.K586 A3 1992Publication Date: 1992
Zines
Below are some featured climbing-related zines. Zines are small-batched, self-published works. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
- Cities to crags: Bearcam and Sam's wild south tourSpecial Collections G516 .M65 2020
Photo zine of a road trip that @bearcam [Cameron Maier] and @bookofsamuel [Sam Elias] took through Memphis, New Orleans, Miami, Chattanooga, South Carolina, and North Carolina in a 1995 recreational vehicle named Mabel in 2019.
- The Climbing ZineCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV200.2 .C54Volumes 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
- Immaterial Climbing: A Queer Climbing Photography Zine byPublication Date: 2022This "photography zine which explores the world of queer climbing. Taken over the course of 2023, this book explores meet-ups, affinity groups, and climbers who are creating their own space of belonging. The project features the event Homoclimbtastic, affinity groups Unharnessed and Phlash, as well as portraits of queer climbers."
Ascent Archive Podcast of Oral Histories with Rock Climbers and Mountaineers
Listen to rock climbers' oral histories from our collections on the Ascent Archive Podcast!
Who can borrow?
Even if you're not a University of Utah student, staff, faculty, emeriti, or retiree, you may be able to borrow materials from the Marriott Library!
As of November 2023, the following people can apply for a free permit:
- State of Utah residents 18 years and older with current government-issued Photo ID
- Faculty, staff and students of UALC, GWLA, or PAC-12 member institutions with proof of current affiliation
- University of Utah Alumni
- Utah International Baccalaureate (IB) high school students with a letter of introduction from an IB program Coordinator.
- Spouses and domestic partners of current University of Utah faculty or staff members.
- Continuing Education / Lifelong Learning students
Please note that some materials are limited to UofU students and employees. This website provides more detailed information about borrowing.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
