Rock Climbing
Overview of our climbing and mountaineering collections
How to Climb / Training for Climbing Books
Below are some featured books about how to climb and training for climbing. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
Advanced Rock Climbing: Expert Skills and Techniques by Call Number: GV200.2 .D66 2016
Alpine Climbing by Call Number: GV200 .H68 2004
Climbing Self Rescue: Improvising Solutions for Serious Situations by Call Number: GV200.183 .T976 2006
Climb Strong: Logical Progression by Call Number: GV200.2 ,B44 2017
Conditioning for Climbers by Call Number: GV200.2 .H66 2008
The Crack Climber's Technique Manual: Jamming with finesse by Call Number: GV200.25 .P43 2014
Girl on the Rocks: A Woman's Guide to Climbing with Strength, Grace, and Courage by Call Number: GV200.2 .B76 2009
How to Big Wall Climb by Call Number: GV200.2 .M2535 2012
How to Climb 5.12 by Call Number: GV200.2 .H68 2003
Make or Break: Don't let climbing injuries dictate your success by Call Number: GV200.2 .M33 2015
Mastermind: Mental training for climbers by Call Number: GV200.19.P78 M64 2017
Modern Rock Climbing by Call Number: GV200.2 .S55 1993
Mountaineering: The Freedom of the Hills by Call Number: GV200 .M688 2010
NOLS Wilderness Mountaineering by Call Number: GV200 .P68 1993
One Move Too Many: How to Understand the Injuries and Overuse Syndromes of Rock Climbing by Call Number: RC1220.M6 S37 2016
Performance Rock Climbing by Call Number: GV200.2 .G63 1993
The Rock Climber's Exercise Guide: Training for strength, power, endurance, flexibility, and stability by Call Number: GV200.2 .H684 2017
The Rock Climber's Training Manual by Call Number: GV200.2 .A64 2014
Rock Climbing: Mastering Basic Skills by Call Number: GV200.2 .L855 2014
Rock Climbing: The AMGA Single Pitch Manual by Call Number: GV200.2 .G34 2014
Rock Climbing Anchors: A Comprehensive Guide by Call Number: GV200.15 .L84 2007
Rock Climbing Technique by Call Number: GV200.2 K48 2018
The Rock Warrior's Way: Mental Training for Climbers by Call Number: GV200.19.P78 I54 2006
The science of climbing training : an evidence-based guide to improving your climbing performance by Call Number: eBook & GV200.2 .C6413 2023
The Self-Coached Climber by Call Number: GV200.2 .H34 2006
Sport Climbing: From Top Rope to Redpoint, Techniques for Climbing Success by Call Number: GV200.2 .B56 2009
Training for Climbing: The Definitive Guide for Improving Your Perfomrance by Call Number: GV200.2 .H685 2016
Training for the Uphill Athlete: A manual for mountain runners and ski mountaineers by
Dovetailing on the success of Training for the New Alpinism and Patagonia's own emphasis on all mountain use, Training for the Uphill Athlete translates theory into methodology to allow you to write your own training plans and coach yourself to endurance goals. Steve House, one of the best mountaineers, and his coach Scott Johnston, an Olympic-level cross country ski coach, along with Kilian Jornet, hands-down best endurance athlete at this time, present training principles for the multisport mountain athlete who regularly participates in a mix of distance running, ski mountaineering, and other endurance sports that require optimum fitness and customized strength. This is an authoritative but accessible training manual for athletes and coaches who feel most alive in the mountains or pushing the uphill ascent. Distance running, ski mountaineering, skimo, and skyrunning are becoming increasingly popular all over the world, and are often undertaken by the same person during a single year. This book collects the scientifically backed and athlete-tested wisdom and experience of three of the best uphill athletes and coaches and extrapolates both to educate outdoor athletes of all stripes to perform their best. The book includes the same mix of theory, application, and experiential essays from experts in the field, as well as instructional illustrations as in Training for the New Alpinism. Contributions by Kilian Jornet increase the worldwide appeal of the book.
Call Number: GV1065.66 .J67 2019
Films
Below are some featured films about how to climb and training for climbing. You can find other climbing-related books and films in the Libraries catalog.
- Basic rock climbing with John LongCall Number: GV200.2 .B374 1987
- Get on the MountainCall Number: GV200 .G48 2009
- Waterfall ice : Jeff Lowe's climbing techniquesCall Number: GV200.3 .L6 2005
Gym-to-Crag Transition
Transitioning from the gym to an outside crag requires new skills. Below are some tips and resources to ease that transition.
Outdoor Climbing Ethics:
- The Climber's PactThe Access Fund, our national non-profit climbing advocacy group, presents the best practices for climbing outside.
While you're on their website, consider becoming a member. Plus, you can become a joint member of our local group, the Salt Lake Climbers Alliance.
- Access Fund's "Making the Transition from Gym to Crag"Easy-to-read chart about responsible outdoor climbing practices that help preserve access.
Books at the Marriott Library:
Climbing From Gym to Crag: building skills for real rock by Call Number: GV200.2 .L45 2000Climbing: From Gym to Crag is written by experts who teach climbing for a living. These long-time instructors have a clear, practical understanding of the different skills and climbing technique needed to go from climbing in the gym to climbing on real rock. From building anchors to leading and self-rescue, they'll teach you how to make the transition safely.
Redpoint by Call Number: GV200.2 .H33 2011This book provides a lot of practical knowledge for outdoor climbing with step-by-step picture instruction.
The first in-depth book on redpointing, where the climber does not weight the rope or pull or stand on manmade equipment. Assessing your redpoint and on-sight skills, choosing a route, and practicing with learning burns. The best ways to use equipment and safest belay methods and rope tricks for working routes Tips for preparing mentally, physically, and emotionally for flash and on-sight burns, climbs that you haven't attempted previously.
Other Local Resources:
- Salt Lake Climbing FestivalOur local climbing advocacy group, the Salt Lake Climbers Alliance, hosts an annual weekend festival. This festival includes half and full-day clinics, including "Intro to Outdoor Rock Climbing."
- Local GymsMany of our local gyms offer clinics and private instruction sessions. Contact your local gym for more information.
Beginner Friendly Outdoor Crags:
*Remember to always wear a helmet when climbing and belaying! There is loose rock.*
- American Fork Canyon - Division Wall, Escape Buttress, Hard Rock, Membrane, Serenity, Tank Canyon
- Big Cottonwood Canyon - Challenge Buttress, Dead Snag, Dogwood Crag, Salt Lake Slips, Storm Mountain Picnic Area
- Little Cottonwood Canyon - Crescent Crack Buttress, Gate Buttress, Green Adjective Gully, Hellgate Cliffs
- Maple Canyon - Early Bird Crag, Orangutan Wall, Road Kill Wall, Schoolroom
- Rock Canyon
Ascent Archive Podcast of Oral Histories with Rock Climbers and Mountaineers
Listen to rock climbers' oral histories from our collections on the Ascent Archive Podcast!
Who can borrow?
Even if you're not a University of Utah student, staff, faculty, emeriti, or retiree, you may be able to borrow materials from the Marriott Library!
As of November 2023, the following people can apply for a free permit:
- State of Utah residents 18 years and older with current government-issued Photo ID
- Faculty, staff and students of UALC, GWLA, or PAC-12 member institutions with proof of current affiliation
- University of Utah Alumni
- Utah International Baccalaureate (IB) high school students with a letter of introduction from an IB program Coordinator.
- Spouses and domestic partners of current University of Utah faculty or staff members.
- Continuing Education / Lifelong Learning students
Please note that some materials are limited to UofU students and employees. This website provides more detailed information about borrowing.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
