Rock Climbing
Magazines
Below are some featured climbing-related magazines. You can find other climbing-related materials in the Libraries catalog.
- AlpinistCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.8 .A476Online access from 2014-present.
Most print in Special Collections - ClimbingCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.4 .C58Online access from 2011-present.
Most print in Special Collections - The Climbing ZineCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV200.2 .C54Volumes 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
- Mountain Magazine (UK)Call Number: GV199.8 .M68
- Off BelayCall Number: GV199.8 .O35
- SummitCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.8 .S94
Journals and Reports
Below are some featured climbing-related journals and reports. You can find other climbing-related materials in the Libraries catalog.
- Accidents in North American ClimbingSome years available in General and Special Collections GV199.8 .A28
- American Alpine Club JournalSome years available in General and Special Collections GV199.8 .A4
- The Canadian alpine journal / Journal alpin canadien.Call Number: F1090 .C2
- The Alpine JournalCall Number: Online
Zines
Below are some featured climbing-related zines. Zines are small-batched, self-published works. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
- Cities to crags: Bearcam and Sam's wild south tourSpecial Collections G516 .M65 2020
Photo zine of a road trip that @bearcam [Cameron Maier] and @bookofsamuel [Sam Elias] took through Memphis, New Orleans, Miami, Chattanooga, South Carolina, and North Carolina in a 1995 recreational vehicle named Mabel in 2019.
- The Climbing ZineCall Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV200.2 .C54Volumes 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
- Immaterial Climbing: A Queer Climbing Photography Zine byPublication Date: 2022This "photography zine which explores the world of queer climbing. Taken over the course of 2023, this book explores meet-ups, affinity groups, and climbers who are creating their own space of belonging. The project features the event Homoclimbtastic, affinity groups Unharnessed and Phlash, as well as portraits of queer climbers."
Ascent Archive Podcast of Oral Histories with Rock Climbers and Mountaineers
Listen to rock climbers' oral histories from our collections on the Ascent Archive Podcast!
Who can borrow?
Even if you're not a University of Utah student, staff, faculty, emeriti, or retiree, you may be able to borrow materials from the Marriott Library!
As of November 2023, the following people can apply for a free permit:
- State of Utah residents 18 years and older with current government-issued Photo ID
- Faculty, staff and students of UALC, GWLA, or PAC-12 member institutions with proof of current affiliation
- University of Utah Alumni
- Utah International Baccalaureate (IB) high school students with a letter of introduction from an IB program Coordinator.
- Spouses and domestic partners of current University of Utah faculty or staff members.
- Continuing Education / Lifelong Learning students
Please note that some materials are limited to UofU students and employees. This website provides more detailed information about borrowing.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
