Rock Climbing
Utah Guidebooks
Below are some featured Utah guidebooks. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
Note: If the book is only available in Special Collections, you can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
Beehive Ice: A Guide to Utah's Ice and Mixed Climbs by Call Number: GV200.3 .S55 2014A Bouldering Guide to Utah by
Call Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.42.U8 B35 2003Note: You can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
Climber's Guide to American Fork/Rock Canyon by Call Number: GV199.42.U82 A54 1995
A Granite Guide by Call Number: GV199.42.U82 W374 2016
High on Moab by Call Number: GV199.42.U82 M632 2014
An Insightful Guide to Joe's Valley Bouldering by Call Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.42.U8 C34 2011Note: You can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
Maple Canyon: Over 600 Climbing Routes by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 K6 2012
Maple Canyon Rock Climbs by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 P44 2012
Northern Utah Limestone Climbing by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 H9 2010
Ogden Area Climbing Guide: From Brigham City to Echo Canyon by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 R56 2005
Rock Climbing Desert Rock III by Call Number: GV199.42.U82 M634 1999
Rock Climbing Desert Rock IV by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 B57 2003
Rock Climbing Utah's Wasatch Range by Call Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.42.W16 R82 1998Note: You can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
Rock Climbs of Southwest Utah and the Arizona Strip by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 G67 2015
St. George bouldering by Call Number: GV199.42 U8 L37
Uinta Rock by Call Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.42.U82 U567 2004Note: You can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
Utah's West Desert by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 G37 2011
Wall Street Rock Climbing by Call Number: GV199.42 .U8 C35 2012
Wasatch Mixed: A Guide to Northern Utah Mixed & Select Ice Routes by Call Number: GV199.42.U8 H46 2012
Zion Climbing: Free and clean by Call Number: Level 4: Special Collections GV199.42.U8 B54 2009Note: You can request reproductions online without visiting the library. Special Collections employees will share digital copies with you.
North America
Here is a classic guidebook for North America. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
Fred Beckey's 100 Favorite North American Climbs by Call Number: Oversize GV199.44 N654 B44
Other Guidebooks
Below are some featured climbing guidebooks for surrounding states. You can find other climbing-related books in the Libraries catalog.
Arizona
Rock Climbing Arizona by Call Number: GV199.42.A7 G74 1999
Best Climbs Phoenix, Arizona by Call Number: GV199.42.A72 P4842 2017
California
Bishop Bouldering Select by Call Number: GV199.42.C2 A63 2016
Yosemite Bigwalls by Call Number: GV199.42.C22 Y6755 2014
Yosemite Bouldering by Publication Date: 2020
Colorado
Bouldering Rocky Mountain National Park and Mount Evans by Call Number: GV199.42.C6 E54 2011
Classic Front Range Trad Climbs: Multi-Pitch routes 5.4 - 5.8 by Call Number: GV199.42 L46 2015
Rifle Mountain Park, Western Colorado Rock Climbs by Call Number: GV199.42.C6 R54 2013
Rock Climbing Colorado: A Guide to More than 1,800 Routes by Call Number: GV199.42.C6 G74 2010
Idaho
City of Rocks & Castle Rocks State Park: A climber's guide by Call Number: GV200.2 .B55 2016
Eastern Idaho Sweet Spots by Call Number: GV199.42.I2 P35 2016
Idaho by Call Number: GV199.42.I2 L67 2000
Nevada
Best Climbs Red Rocks by Call Number: GV199.42.N3 M37 2017
Red Rocks: A Climber's Guide by Call Number: GV199.42.N32 H36 2016- Southern Nevada Bouldering byPublication Date: 2018-10-01
Washington
Cascade Alpine Guide - Climbing and High Routes by Call Number: GV199.42 C37 B43 1995
Best Climbs Cascade Volcanoes by Call Number: GV199.42.C37 S64 2012
Wyoming
Climbing and Hiking in the Wind River Mountains by Call Number: GV199.42.W82 W565 2013
Holy Ten Sleep Electric Koolaide 3-D Acid Test by Call Number: GV199.42.W82 T35 2015
Lander Rock Climbs (2011, 2015, & 2018 editions) by Call Number: GV199.42.W82 L362
Rock Climbing Wyoming by Call Number: GV199.42.W82 L54 2016
Teton Rock Climbs by Call Number: GV199.42.W82 G36 2012
Ascent Archive Podcast of Oral Histories with Rock Climbers and Mountaineers
Listen to rock climbers' oral histories from our collections on the Ascent Archive Podcast!
Who can borrow?
Even if you're not a University of Utah student, staff, faculty, emeriti, or retiree, you may be able to borrow materials from the Marriott Library!
As of November 2023, the following people can apply for a free permit:
- State of Utah residents 18 years and older with current government-issued Photo ID
- Faculty, staff and students of UALC, GWLA, or PAC-12 member institutions with proof of current affiliation
- University of Utah Alumni
- Utah International Baccalaureate (IB) high school students with a letter of introduction from an IB program Coordinator.
- Spouses and domestic partners of current University of Utah faculty or staff members.
- Continuing Education / Lifelong Learning students
Please note that some materials are limited to UofU students and employees. This website provides more detailed information about borrowing.
Suggest a Purchase
Is there a book or resource you think the library needs to purchase and include in our collection? You can request a purchase for any book! Fill out this form. You will be contacted when it arrives via email.
