Special Education: APA and Chicago Style
Save and Organize Your References
- EndNote Web LoginEndNote Web (free to UU students, faculty and staff)
allows you to:
--Import references from hundreds of online databases and organize a library of references in many languages
--Store up to 10,000 records per EndNote Web account
--Edit reference—add notes, keywords—modify any field
--Cite While You Write™ in Microsoft Word (requires plug-in) to insert references and format papers instantly
--Use over 2,300 publishing styles to format citations.
Library guide for How to use Endnote Basic (Web) and Endnote Desktop
Style Manuals
Many instructors require students to create citations for a bibliographies and to write and format a paper according to a particular style. The most common style in the social sciences is the APA style, created by the American Psychological Association. Another style often used in the social sciences is the Chicago style, created by the University of Chicago Press. Information on both styles is listed below.
The Marriott Library has been funded for a two-year pilot project with NoodleTools. You may want to take a look at NoodleTools because it is a great teaching tool while providing information on citing using APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian. NoodleTools can be accessed by clicking on the tab, Article Databases, on the Marriott Library's home page, and then clicking on the letter "N" for NoodleTools.
APA Style 7.0
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (print)
Several APA style manuals are available at the Open Reserves on Level 3 of the Marriott library and and in the General Collection on Level 2.
Below are some additional online resources.
- APA Instructional AidsContains tutorials and cheat sheets and other valuable resources
- Purdue APA Formatting and Style GuideCreated by the Writing Lab at Purdue University
- APAStyle.org: Citing Electronic ReferencesHelp from the American Psychological Assocaition
- APA 7 Journal Article Reporting Standards (JARS)APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards (APA Style JARS) are a set of guidelines designed for journal authors, reviewers, and editors to enhance scientific rigor in peer-reviewed journal articles. Educators and students can use APA Style JARS as teaching and learning tools for conducting high quality research and determining what information to report in scholarly papers. There are Quantitative, Qualitative and Mixed Methods Standards.
Available in the General Collection on Level 1 of the MAarriott Library
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05One copy of this manual is available in the General Collection on level 1 of the Marriott Library. Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Also includes the popular Chicago Style Q&A and the Quick Guide for "clear examples of how to use Chicago-style citation" and "provides convenient tools such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets".
Helpful Web sites from two universities about Chicago style.
