Special Education: Statistical Resources
Library Databases -- Statistics
You may examine all of the library databases available for statistical research and analysis by selecting Article Databases and selecting Statistics/Data Resource using the BY TYPE drop-down box. Below are a few selected from the list:
- American FactFinderThis database is hosted by the United States Census Bureau and provides access to a variety of U.S. Census datasets, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, annual population estimates, and the Economic Census. The datasets are comprised of a variety of statistics relating to the United States' population, including distributions of age, rage, education, income, family size, spoken languages, and more. Datasets can be used for comparison.
- Statistics in Schools (SIS) - US CensusStatistics in Schools (SIS) brings school subjects to life using real-world Census Bureau statistics to create materials for use year after year for K-12 students. Explore this site for engaging resources and activities in social studies, math, English, geography, sociology and more.
- ICPSRA unique selection of sociological and demographical data available to those affiliated with the University of Utah. Please note that ICSPR files are not available for downloading from library computers.
Sources
Special Education Resources
ChildStats.gov (also know as the Federal Interagency forum on Child and Family Statistics)
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum was founded in 1994 and formally established in April 1997 under Executive Order No. 13045. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families.
The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time
IDEA Data Center This website provides public access to data about children and youth with disabilities served under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). The IDEA Data Center at Westat is funded by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education Programs. We work with states to improve IDEA data collection and reporting and support states as they analyze and use these data to make programmatic improvements.
National Education Association Reports & Statistics
U.S. Dept of Education: Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) OSERS provides a wide array of supports to parents and individuals, school districts and states in three main areas: special education, vocational rehabilitation and research.
National Statistical Sources
Digest of Education Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
EdStats (World Bank)
University of Utah Statistical Sources
Helpful Library Guides
