Skip to main content
University of Utah Library Guides

The Historical GIS of Salt Lake City: Project Resources

An interactive geospatial study of historical, environmental and health related impacts to Salt Lake City.

Bibliography of Materials Utilized to Create Interface GIS Layers

Salt Lake City Census Layers (Housing & Occupational Statistics)

Occupational Chemical Exposure Motion Chart and Database created by Caitlyn Tubbs (Digital Scholarship Lab) utilizing iinformation from the following reference materials:

  • Rosling, H. (2006, March 1). Gapminder: unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view. . Retrieved from http://www.gapminder.org
  • U.S. Bureau of the Census.  Supplement to the First Series Housing Bulletin for Utah, Salt Lake City Block Statistics.  United States Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C., 1942.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1950.  Vol. V, Block Statistics, Part 168.  U. S. Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C., 1951.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1960. City Blocks:  Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1970.  Block Statistics, Salt Lake City, Utah Urbanized Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1970. Census Tracts, Salt Lake City, Utah, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1980. Census Tracts, Salt Lake City, Utah, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1990. Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tracts and Block Numbering Areas.  Salt Lake City-Ogden, Utah.

Census database compilation and thematic shapefile layers created by Caitlyn Tubbs & Justin Sorensen (Digital Scholarship Lab) utilizing information compiled from the following reference materials:

  • U.S. Bureau of the Census.  Supplement to the First Series Housing Bulletin for Utah, Salt Lake City Block Statistics.  United States Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C., 1942.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1950.  Vol. V, Block Statistics, Part 168.  U. S. Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C., 1951.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1960. City Blocks:  Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Housing: 1970.  Block Statistics, Salt Lake City, Utah Urbanized Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1970. Census Tracts, Salt Lake City, Utah, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1980. Census Tracts, Salt Lake City, Utah, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area.
  • U. S. Bureau of the Census.  U. S. Census of Population & Housing: 1990. Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tracts and Block Numbering Areas.  Salt Lake City-Ogden, Utah.

EPA Superfund Sites Layer

Digitized overlay materials created by Justin Sorensen utilizing the following reference materials:

 1950 Salt Lake City Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

  • Georeferenced Overlay Layer - Original print maps obtained from Marriott Library Special Collections Department.  Scanned maps created by Marriott Library Digital Technologies Staff.  Converted scanned maps and georeferenced materials created by Justin Sorensen & Caitlyn Tubbs (Digital Scholarship Lab).
  • 3D Buildings Animation Layer Demo - 3D model animation videos of particular locations of Salt Lake City created by Caitlyn Tubbs utilizing georeferenced 1950 Salt Lake City Sanborn maps and Google Sketch-up software.
  • 3D Interactive Building Layer Demo - 3D interactive overlay model of Salt Lake City created by Justin Sorensen utilizing georeferencing 1950 Salt Lake City Sanborn maps, ArcGIS and Google Earth software.

Chemical Impacts Layer

Associated Chemical Businesses Layers
  • Database and shapefiles created by Justin Sorensen (Digital Scholarship Lab) utilizing information obtained from 1937-1952 Salt Lake City Yellow Pages Directories.
Chemical Diagrams and Graphic Chart Components

Optional Basemap Layer

Original print maps obtained from Marriott Library Special Collections Department.  Scanned maps created by Marriott Library Digital Technologies Staff.  Converted scanned maps and georeferenced materials created by Justin Sorensen and Caitlyn Tubbs (Digital Scholarship Lab).
  • 1940 Downtown Salt Lake City Map. H.M. Gousha Company.  Street map of Salt Lake City.  Chicago: H.M. Gousha, 1940
  • 1911 Salt Lake City Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
  • 1950 Salt Lake City Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Transportation System (1935-1952) Layer

Database compilation and shapefile layer created by Caitlyn Tubbs (Digital Scholarship Lab) utilizing the following materials:

  • Transportation Map of Salt Lake City.  Salt Lake City, Utah: The Company.  1941
  • Utah Light and Traction Optimistic.  Electric Railway Journal, vol.58, no. 10, 347-351

The & Now: A Historical Photo Comparison of Downtown Salt Lake City Layer

Database compilation and shapefile layer created by Justin Sorensen (Digital Scholarship Lab) and Ken Rockwell (Marriott Library) utilizing materials found in the J. Willard Marriott Library Collection.

Hidden Waters Layer

Database compilation and shapefile layer created by Anne Morrow (Digital Scholarship Lab).

Outside GIS Layers Utilized in this Project

GIS layers created by Salt Lake City Engineering Department and used with permission by the Digital Scholarship Lab. 

Engineering - Download GIS Data. (n.d.). Welcome to Salt Lake City. Retrieved August 1, 2013, from http://www.slcgov.com/engineering/engineering-download-gis-data

Layers utilized in this project include:

  • Community Council Districts
  • Parks
  • Salt Lake City Boundaries

Google SketchUp 3D Modeling

          Google SketchUp Software, www.sketchup.com

          Temple Square by MichaelaM, Google Sketchup 3D Warehouse

 

Source Material Research References

Initial investigation of available materials researched by Anne Morrow (Digital Scholarship Lab) utilizing the following resources:

  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large-scale, detailed maps from 1884-1950 depicting the commercial, industrial and residential sections of Salt Lake City.  Details include sidewalk and street widths, layout, property boundaries and elevation.  This level of detail forms the basis for the 3D modeling of structures we are able to perform.
  • Utah Digital Newspapers: articles of relevance from the Salt lake Herald (1914-1919) and Salt Lake Telegram (1902-1952).
  • University of Utah Photo Archives: contains thousands of images related to Utah history.
  • Hidden Water: survey of Salt Lake Valley surface water.
  • Hotel Utah: digitized photographs and manuscript items from the collection are available fro researching online and include highlights from the hotels distinguished history.
  • College of Architecture Public Collection: contains photographs of local homes and buildings of architectural and historic significance.
  • Mountain West Digital Library: a central search porttal for digital collections about the Mountain West region.
  • Western Waters Digital Library: a digital collection on water in the western United States.
  • Utah Department of Heritage and Arts: historical photograph collection.
  • Utah Department of Environmental Quality
  • National Park Service's National Registry of Historical Places for Salt Lake City
  • United States Environmental Protection Agency: the EPA has embraced a core mission of not only removing barriers to locate data, but encourages the export and use of data.  As a result, the Salt Lake City Geoportal is able to be dynamically linked to the EPA's databases.
  • United States Census
  • Utah Automated Geographic Reference Center
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library