ULibraries Research Guides: COVID-19 Expanded Content & Services: Start Here

Start Here
- Textbooks & Open Reserve
- Library Expands eContent

Need help? Contact us

Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides

Textbooks & Open Reserve

The library building is on a phased re-opening https://newsletter.lib.utah.edu/the-marriott-library-is-opening/ Print Reserve service on Level 3 remains closed. We refer students to eReserve, library ebooks, HathiTrust Emergency Service, and the Campus Store for textbook access.

Electronic Course Reserve:

Go to the library http://lib.utah.edu
If off-campus, connect remotely here https://lib.utah.edu/help/off-campus.php
In the big search box, enter Course Number (e.g. MID E 1000)
Select 'Course Reserve' in the pull-down menu
Hit Enter for full listing of readings

Home Delivery from Marriott Library
Books mailed every Friday. Send requests to mlib-delivery@lists.utah.edul with book details.
more...less...
Our collections are available online or through home delivery. Search our catalog for electronic and physical resources. If the item you are interested is available as an electronic copy, the e-version will be supplied to you in place of the physical copy. Email us with the title, author, and year of publication of the item(s) you are interested in. Physical requests will be sent out every Friday.
HathiTrust
Temporary access to in-copyright works, in addition to public domain works, for HathiTrust members experiencing closure, both of which apply to UU libraries.
Campus Store
Buy or rent textbooks for Fall 2020 and Spring 2021

Library Expands eContent

ANSI Standards (selected)
ANSI has made some standards available free in response to COVID-19, including 31 ISO standards. Most of the standards are related to technology related to fighting the pandemic.
more...less...
To access the free portal, individual users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered, users can return to the portal via https://asc.ansi.org. First time visitors should go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/62DZ6TD to register.
Coronavirus Method Development from EBSCO
Protocols.io is for science methods, assays, clinical trials, operational procedures and checklists for keeping your protocols up do date as recommended by Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) and Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP).
Coronavirus Research Database from ProQuest
Coronavirus Research Database aggregates open content from ProQuest with content made freely available by members of the International Association of STM Publishers. Notable publishers contributing to the Coronavirus Research Database include Public Library of Science, BioMed Central, MDPI AG, Springer Nature Publisher Group, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Preprint servers include arXiv.org and BioRxiv.
more...less...
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
EBSCO Research Databases
African American Historical Serials
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 and 2
Atla Historical Monographs Collection
Atlantic Magazine Archive: 1857-2014
Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive: 1929-2000
Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 (H.W. Wilson Retrospective Indexes collection)
Ebony Magazine Archive
Forbes Magazine Archive: 1917-2000
Fortune Magazine Archive: 1930-2000
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index
People Magazine Archive
ISO Standards
...to support global efforts in dealing with the COVID-19 crisis. They are freely available in read-only format.
McGraw-Hill Access
Eccles Library has arranged for emergency (and temporary) access to the entire suite of McGraw-Hill Access products.
more...less...
Below are a few resources available late March - Sept 20, 2020.

Access Anesthesiology

Access Cardiology

Access Emergency Medicine

Access HemOnc

Access Neurology

Access ObGyn

Access Pediatrics

Access Physiotherapy

Access Surgery

Case Files Collection

F.A. Davis PT Collection

NOTE: The interactive content on all Access platforms (flashcards, quizzes, etc.) require the creation fo a free MyAccess account.
NEJM Group
Expanded access to clinical videos, images, case challenges, email alerts, and journal watch.
Netflix Documentaries on YouTube
Patents open during COVID-19
Various companies and scientific agencies pledge to "make our [patents] available free of charge for use in ending the COVID-19 pandemic and minimizing the impact of the disease."
Publons COVID-19 Index of Papers Needing Review
Quickly find and screen new COVID-19 preprints and papers to know which research can be trusted and built on...
University Presses and other Publishers on ProjectMUSE
Use Project MUSE under 'Databases' to get access.