Asian Pacific American Studies
Ethnic Studies Librarian
How to Research This Topic
My name is Lux Darkbloom, and I'm the librarian for TRANSFORM.
My job is to help you to learn and understand how to navigate the library AND the university systems, and I really do want to help. If you need a hand with any research project or question (research- or university-related), please don't hesitate to reach out to me. Just email lux.darkbloom@utah.edu. If email doesn't work best for you, let me know what does. I'm also available by phone, Zoom, Google Chat, Google Hangouts, and FaceTime, though it'll probably take us one email exchange to set things up.
Or if it's 3:00 am, you're really stressed out, and need immediate help, you can talk with an on-duty librarian using that little box below.
The Contemporary Asian American Experience by Call Number: E184.O6 F66 2002ISBN: 0130918342Publication Date: 2001-09-05For undergraduate courses in Sociology of Asian Americans, Introduction to Asian American Studies, or any course focusing on Asian Americans. Combining the rigor of scholarship with the accessibility of journalism, this text examines the contemporary history, culture, and social relationships that form the fundamental issues confronted by Asians in America today. Comprehensive, authoritative, yet concise, it focuses on a broad range of issues, and features a unique comparative approach that analyzes how race, class, and gender intersect throughout the contemporary Asian American experience.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
When starting your research in Asian Pacific Islander studies, start by gathering background information on your topic. Tertiary sources, such as encyclopedias and reference databases, are good places to start.
Statistics can be a useful tool when researching populations or groups.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowNOTE: User registration (free) is required for this database. Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand a variety of data, including average household incomes, population density, gender distribution, marital status, occupations, and more.
Ask a Librarian!
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
