Management Information Systems
What materials are you searching in Usearch?
Usearch combines the catalogs of the Marriott, Faust, Eccles and McKay libraries, Utah Museum of Fine Arts online articles, ebooks, digital collections, and artwork into one search engine.
You can limit searches to Local resources only, Articles only or Digital Collections using the dropdown.
All Resource: Books, ebooks, journals, audio/visual materials, articles and digital collections
Local Resources: Books, ebooks, journals, & audio/visual materials. no articles or digital collections
Articles: Articles only, no books, ebooks or digital collections
Digital Collections: Digital collections only, no books or
Tip: LOGGING IN right away will allow for a seamless experience requesting materials and viewing your e-shelf and library account information. Click the LOG IN link in the user panel and enter your uNID and password. When your name appears in the user panel, you know you're logged in.
Tip: You can always use the facets, to post filter for more focused results.
Tip: You can sort your search results by relevance, date-newest, author and title by choosing your preference in the sorted by: drop-down menu located at the top of your search results list.
Tip: To refine your search results, use the facets on the left side of the screen. You will be able to facet your results by: Resource Type, Location, Collection, Subject, Creation Date, Language, Author/Creator, and Classification.
Tip: You can include or exclude as many facet parameters as you wish at once.
Tip: You can see your selected filters at the top and deselect any or all of them to adjust your results. You can also continue to build upon your current selections by selecting to include further facets.
Tip: If you have searched for "fashion" and only want to see physical materials available at the Marriott Library, you would choose: Show Only = "Available in the Library," Location = "Marriott Library." This will tailor your search results to only list physical materials at the Marriott Library.
Tip: In addition to saving items to your e-shelf you can also send items to a printer, email address, EndNote Basic, EasyBib, and more.
Tip: You can use Boolean logic in Usearch!
To search for a phrase, enter quotation marks around your search terms, e.g., “feminist theory” *Keep in mind that "AND" is the default, so this search will look for "feminist AND theory."
To search for any specified words or phrases, enter OR (all in upper case) between the words or phrases, e.g. poetry OR sonnet
To exclude words or phrases, enter NOT (all in upper case) followed by the word or phrase to exclude, e.g. orange NOT lemon
Use parentheses to group terms: (hardiness OR resilien*), (ski OR skis OR skiing)
well-being" will retrieve more results than "well being"
Tip: You can use truncation & wildcards in Usearch!
To perform a single-character wildcard search, enter a ? in place of the character position that has more than one possibility, e.g. wom?n to search for woman, women, etc.
To perform a multiple-character wildcard search, enter a * in place of the characters that have multiple possibilities, e.g. cultur* to search for culture, cultural, culturally, etc.
- Last Updated: Jan 5, 2023 3:19 PM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/c.php?g=1008592
- Print Page